VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Qt 4.3  (Read 7535 times)

jason.vector

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Qt 4.3
« on: June 07, 2007, 08:47:25 pm »

Hi, i´ve tried to compile this package but is imposible, it takes to much time. i really need this package.
thanks in advance.
Logged

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2007, 02:49:43 am »

Hmm...I don't think Qt4 can be installed allongside Qt3, in the same way that GTK2 can be installed with GTK1.

I may be wrong though; JohnB316 is the Qt-man so he will be able to tell you with better detail  ;)
« Last Edit: June 08, 2007, 12:32:42 pm by easuter »
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2007, 12:25:31 pm »

Qt 4 can coexist with Qt 3.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

blurymind

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2007, 09:36:17 am »

i've seen a qt4 package for slack 11 that can be installed along with qt3,but it is installed in a different directory...
thats was a few months ago...forgot where  :-\
Logged
status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2007, 08:49:47 am »

Qt 4 can coexist with Qt 3.

In that case I'll give it a shot. (that is, if nobody else has started already ;))
Logged

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2007, 12:44:56 pm »

GCC is failing with segmentation faults during the build, so this may take a while  :-\
Logged

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2007, 06:23:00 pm »

Well, I've managed to get it compiled and packaged.

jason.vector, what apps do you need that rely on Qt4?
Let me know, so I can try to build them as well, and see if my Qt4 package is working correctly before I upload it :)
Logged

JohnB316

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1346
  • Registered Linux User #386728
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2007, 08:09:54 pm »

easuter,

What arguments did you pass to the configure script? Just curious.

Cheers,
John
Logged
VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.

jason.vector

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2007, 09:31:21 pm »

Well, I've managed to get it compiled and packaged.

jason.vector, what apps do you need that rely on Qt4?
Let me know, so I can try to build them as well, and see if my Qt4 package is working correctly before I upload it :)
I´m working programming a GUI to an existing project programed in Qt4. it`s not compiled and is incomplete so the only solution is to check the Qt4 that you build by myself. I tried to compile this Qt too but the segmentation fault every 3 minutes was very frustrating.
thanks.
Logged

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2007, 03:14:48 am »

easuter,

What arguments did you pass to the configure script? Just curious.

Cheers,
John

To get it to compile, I had to install the 2.6.18.5 kernel headers, reinstall gcc and gcc-g++, and run the configure like so:

Code: [Select]
LDFLAGS="-liconv" ./configure --prefix=/usr/lib/qt-4.3.0
Anyway, I've named the package qt4-4.3.0  so that any dist-upgrades wont remove the Qt3 package.

Quote from: jason.vector
I´m working programming a GUI to an existing project programed in Qt4. it`s not compiled and is incomplete so the only solution is to check the Qt4 that you build by myself. I tried to compile this Qt too but the segmentation fault every 3 minutes was very frustrating.thanks.

Ok then. I've found qBitorrent which is a Qt4 app, so I'll test it on that before uploading the package.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2007, 07:18:50 am by easuter »
Logged

blurymind

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2007, 03:31:43 am »

this is great...now i can build myself the new kdissert

http://kde-apps.org/content/show.php/Semantik?content=55242
Logged
status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2007, 10:07:44 am »

I just downloaded CDFly from qt-apps.org to test my Qt 4.3.0 build and it looks like its working:

http://clientes.netvisao.pt/alynnsut/cdfly_qt4.png

Looks like Trolltech has made a Plastik-like theme the default for Qt4  ;D
I'll have it uploaded to the repos by this evening.
Logged

blurymind

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2007, 10:22:02 am »

can we build applications for the repo using this package? there are some really good apps that run with qt4. :-\

You used a --with-qt=/usr/lib/qt-4.3.0  at configure,right?

and does that mean i'll have to upgrade system packages such as the kernel and gcc to get it? I have cdfly on my windows and use it to index my dvds...i was eager to get it on linux.  :(
« Last Edit: June 12, 2007, 10:25:46 am by blurymind »
Logged
status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2007, 10:55:21 am »

There are no upgrades necessary, and this Qt4 package won't interfere with the current Qt3 package and its settings.
Installing newer kernel headers was only necessary to build Qt4.

I'll post info on building Qt4 apps in the package announcement.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2007, 11:17:02 am by easuter »
Logged

blurymind

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Qt 4.3
« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2007, 11:06:18 am »

There are no upgrades necessary, and this Qt4 package won't interfere with the current Qt3 settings.
Installing newer kernel headers was only necessary to build Qt4.

I'll post info on building Qt4 apps in the package announcement.
Thank you. This package is very valuable addition to the repo, since we wont have to wait for the next vector or kde 4 to come out (hopefully kde 4 will be out when vec 6 is out) to get to a majority of applications that recently switched to qt 4.*
Logged
status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
Pages: [1] 2