VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: [SOLVED] SOHO RC3, fuse, and ntfs-3g not cooperating?  (Read 2959 times)

Countman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
[SOLVED] SOHO RC3, fuse, and ntfs-3g not cooperating?
« on: June 09, 2007, 07:08:06 am »

I upgraded from Beta 2 to RC3 (full re-install).

As expected, my Windows drives did not map, so I mapped them using VASM.

Then I applied the FSTAB fix I had used previously:
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=2479.0

I got warnings from ntfs-3g during bootup about kernel module and fuse.

Tried using Gslapt to add/remove fuse, ntfs-3g, and the fuse kernel module.  No combination I could find worked.

Digging around this forum leads me to think there is a fuse to kernel version mismatch, but I could be totally off.

Another puzzling aspect this time is that I can't open my VFAT partition either.

FSTAB Section:
#Windows Partitions
/dev/hdc1   /mnt/Windows_C  ntfs-3g  defaults,allow_other,umask=0,users   0 0
/dev/hdd1   /mnt/WIndows_D  vfat  umask=0,quiet,shortname=mixed 0 0

Kernel version: 2.6.20.7


Any help would be appreciated!


« Last Edit: June 14, 2007, 06:33:01 pm by JohnB316 »
Logged

JohnB316

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1346
  • Registered Linux User #386728
Re: SOHO RC3, fuse, and ntfs-3g not cooperating?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2007, 04:01:15 pm »

Countman,

I would suggest installing the VL 5.8 SOHO Final, as the fuse and ntfs-3g modules work correctly (at least for me). I'm able to mount read-write a Win2K NTFS partition on the box from which I'm posting this reply.

HTH,
John
Logged
VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.

Countman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: SOHO RC3, fuse, and ntfs-3g not cooperating?
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2007, 08:03:24 am »

Thanks, John, I didn't notice the Final was available for download.

Downloaded and installed, used VASM to add the partitions.  The VFAT partition mounted OK, but still having trouble with NTFS.

Haven't tried tinkering with fuse and ntfs-3g packages yet.


BTW - the Final is really elegant, and still fast as .... usual!
Logged

JohnB316

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1346
  • Registered Linux User #386728
Re: SOHO RC3, fuse, and ntfs-3g not cooperating?
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2007, 11:23:51 am »

To have the fuse service load at startup, run VASM -> SUPER -> SRVSET -> whatever run levels you are using. Make sure that fuse is selected.

As far as mounting an NTFS partition using ntfs-3g, I have such a partition on my VL box. Here is the line in /etc/fstab that mounts it:

Code: [Select]
/dev/hda1 /mnt/winnt ntfs-3g defaults,allow_other,umask=0,users,nls=utf8,noexec 0 0

Change the /dev/hda1 to reflect the actual location of your NTFS partition. Also change /mnt/winnt to reflect the mount point you are going to use for mounting your NTFS partition.

HTH,
John
Logged
VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.

Countman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: SOHO RC3, fuse, and ntfs-3g not cooperating?
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2007, 07:57:16 pm »

Thanks, John, got it all up and running!

BTW I made a stupid error - the mount point was not the same as the mount folder (off by one character).  As the fuse error message about kernel module scrolled by on the screen, I noticed it was preceded by a simple one-liner that gave me a clue about the mount point.  Really, the whole big message about kernel modules was misleading.

Much appreciated!

Countman
Logged