VectorLinux
October 21, 2014, 03:42:11 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: 070612 - Qt 4.3.0  (Read 7595 times)
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« on: June 12, 2007, 02:38:24 pm »

The latest release of Qt from Trolltech is available for download from the testing repository, along with full source code:

Source: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.8/source/testing/libs/qt4
Package: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.8/testing/libs/qt4-4.3.0-i586-4vl58.tlz

Code:
qt4: QT graphical toolkit, version 4.3.0
qt4:
qt4: Qt is a comprehensive development framework that includes
qt4: an extensive array of features, capabilities and tools
qt4: that enable development of high-performance, cross-platform
qt4: rich-client and server-side applications.
qt4:
qt4: Website: http://trolltech.com/products/qt
qt4: License GNU General Public License, version 2
qt4: (only for use with open source aplications, commercial
qt4: applications need payed licenses).


*General package info:

 - The package's base-name is qt4, not qt. This will prevent Qt3 from being removed during a dist-upgrade for example and will allow you to have both Qt versions installed and working side-by-side.

 - The installation prefix is /usr/lib/qt-4.3.0, with a symlink pointing to /usr/lib/qt4.

 - Symlinks in /usr/bin for Qt4's qmake, qtconfig, linguist, designer, lrelease and lupdate, respectively: qmake4, qt4config, linguist4, designer4, lrelease4, lupdate4.

 - To configure Qt4's appearance run qt4config

 - Menu entries made for Qt4's Linguist, Assistant and Designer.

 - SQL drivers built (as plugins): Sqlite3, MySQL and PostgreSQL drivers.


*Building apps against Qt4:

 - The $QTDIR environment variable in VL 5.8 is set by default to use Qt3 (in other words, /usr/lib/qt). If the source you need to compile has a configure script, then run it like this in order to override the QTDIR variable:

Code:
QTDIR="/usr/lib/qt4" ./configure --prefix=/usr
make

However, most Qt-based apps' configure scripts will have an option to set the Qt prefix using a flag. The flag may vary, but it is usually one of these:

Code:
--qtdir=/usr/lib/qt4
--qt-dir=/usr/lib/qt4
--with-qt=/usr/lib/qt4
--with-qt-dir=/usr/lib/qt4
--with-qt-prefix=/usr/lib/qt4

You can run ./configure --help to check for the correct Qt flag for that particular app.
If you use the flag, then you won't need the environment variable override when you configure the source:

Code:
./configure --prefix=/usr --qtdir=/usr/lib/qt4

 - If the Qt4 sources that need to be compiled use only qmake to create a Makefile, then you will have to use qmake4, since the qmake binary is for Qt3.

Code:
qmake4
make

 - If you get a segmentation fault error while compiling a Qt4 app, then you will most likely need to make GCC use libiconv:

Code:
LDFLAGS="-liconv" QTDIR="/usr/lib/qt4" ./configure --prefix=/usr

or

Code:
LDFLAGS="-liconv"  ./configure --prefix=/usr --qtdir=/usr/lib/qt4

That should solve the segmentation faults.

Post any problems with that package in this thread.  Smiley
« Last Edit: July 11, 2007, 04:45:38 pm by easuter » Logged

blurymind
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1082



« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2007, 12:22:42 am »

could you upload cdfly too? Tongue
Logged

status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2007, 01:03:00 am »

could you upload cdfly too? Tongue

Yeah, I guess.
Logged

jovanoti
Member
*
Posts: 11



« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2007, 04:31:46 am »

Well, I suceeded to compile Qt4 on my own  Grin . I don't know whether this package creates a link to qtconfig, but if not this will be useful.
Code:
su
ln -s /usr/lib/qt4/bin/qtconfig /usr/bin/qt4config
su username
qt4config
http://img356.imageshack.us/my.php?image=snapshot2ul1.jpg
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2007, 04:42:34 am »

Yes, indeed, I'm thinking of doing something like that for Qt4's qmake as well (maybe a symlink called qmake4).
I can put that into a revised package.  Smiley
Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2007, 06:07:35 am »

jovanoti, I have added the qt4config symlink to the package, and also a qmake4 symlink. The initial post was changed to reflect that.

Thanks for the suggestion!  Smiley
Logged

rossofiorentino
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2007, 03:24:00 am »

Hello to everybody!
I cant install KDE cause package
arts and Kdelibs, when i launch configure, say me:
....
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.3 and < 4.0) (headers and libraries) not found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.

I looked at end of config.log, but i don'7 understand a lot....
May someone help me?
« Last Edit: June 29, 2007, 03:28:55 am by rossofiorentino » Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2007, 04:47:15 am »

Are you trying to compile compile KDE from source?
If yes, you don't have to because KDE can be downloaded from the VL repository.
Logged

rossofiorentino
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2007, 04:57:45 am »

Yes, i'd  like to compile it, i try to optimize it with "-O3 -march=i686 mtune=i686 -mcpu=pentium3".
But i try for educational also......
If i compile Kde with the old qt library 3.3.0 I haven't any problem,
but if i install qt4 i have that error. My problem is not with Kde, is with qt....
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2007, 05:59:52 am »

Which version of KDE are you trying to compile?

This Qt4 package should not interfere with the Qt3 package provided with VectorLinux 5.8
By the way, which version of Vector are you using?
Logged

rossofiorentino
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2007, 06:20:59 am »

I'm using the last VL 5.8 standard gold
and Kde is the last stable 3.5.7.....
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2007, 08:21:28 am »

I'll give it a try here later on to see if I get the same problem when Qt4 is installed.
Logged

The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2007, 08:56:53 am »

Quote
i try to optimize it with "-O3 -march=i686 mtune=i686 -mcpu=pentium3"
mcpu is deprecated,  instead try
Code:
-O3 -march=i686 -mtune=pentium3
How much speed you gain with -O3 is usure too. Some people are of the opinion that you should just use -Os (optimize for size) for everything but math libraries. I think -O2 is a nice middle road, as it will be optimized for speed and size.
I'm not saying you should use -O2, just thought I'd mention it Wink.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
rossofiorentino
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2007, 10:30:51 pm »

Thanks for suggestion for compiling!
It is jaus for educational....
But problem with qt4 still stay.......
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2007, 08:35:57 am »

I have a new Qt4 package that I'll upload this evening, and will hopefully fix that problem and any SQL problems too.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!