Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: DMA and Xine  (Read 4947 times)

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
DMA and Xine
« on: June 16, 2007, 03:45:52 pm »
Tossed a DVD into the player this evening and the play was extremely choppy. So I bugged out to toss this command in and received:

root:# hdparm -d1 /dev/dvd

/dev/dvd:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
 using_dma    =  0 (off)

As I understand it, to get this to work involves a recompile of the kernel. First question is, how and what do I use to get DMA to work, and second, why isn't DMA included as default?
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2007, 04:43:42 pm »
As I understand it, to get this to work involves a recompile of the kernel.
Probably not.

First question is, how and what do I use to get DMA to work...
I was given 2 links about this, but haven't tried yet:
http://thomer.com/howtos/dma_on_sata_dvd.html
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problems_with_SATA_and_Linux#No_DMA_on_DVD_drive

...and second, why isn't DMA included as default?
This seems to be something the sata driver devs need to address.
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2007, 01:37:12 pm »
Try this as root:

echo 1024 >  /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq

That should fix it and add it to /etc/rc.d/rc.local.

HTH

Bigpaws

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2007, 01:47:25 pm »
Bigpaws, what should that add? I didn't see anything in the file after executing the echo command.
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2007, 03:30:39 pm »
Now try xine. It sets the size of rtc.

Bigpaws

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2007, 03:59:45 am »
Still choppy and jerky... Not much change at all.  Funny thing is, MPlayer works fairly well to where the dvd is watchable.
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2007, 04:11:24 am »
Can you change BIOS settings for the controller to "legacy mode" or similar?

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2007, 04:45:50 am »
Not really.. BIOS is set to detect all devices.
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz