VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: DMA and Xine  (Read 5068 times)

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1342
DMA and Xine
« on: June 16, 2007, 04:45:52 pm »

Tossed a DVD into the player this evening and the play was extremely choppy. So I bugged out to toss this command in and received:

root:# hdparm -d1 /dev/dvd

/dev/dvd:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
 using_dma    =  0 (off)

As I understand it, to get this to work involves a recompile of the kernel. First question is, how and what do I use to get DMA to work, and second, why isn't DMA included as default?
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2007, 05:43:42 pm »

As I understand it, to get this to work involves a recompile of the kernel.
Probably not.

First question is, how and what do I use to get DMA to work...
I was given 2 links about this, but haven't tried yet:
http://thomer.com/howtos/dma_on_sata_dvd.html
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problems_with_SATA_and_Linux#No_DMA_on_DVD_drive

...and second, why isn't DMA included as default?
This seems to be something the sata driver devs need to address.
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2007, 02:37:12 pm »

Try this as root:

echo 1024 >  /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq

That should fix it and add it to /etc/rc.d/rc.local.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1342
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2007, 02:47:25 pm »

Bigpaws, what should that add? I didn't see anything in the file after executing the echo command.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2007, 04:30:39 pm »

Now try xine. It sets the size of rtc.

Bigpaws
Logged

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1342
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2007, 04:59:45 am »

Still choppy and jerky... Not much change at all.  Funny thing is, MPlayer works fairly well to where the dvd is watchable.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4141
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2007, 05:11:24 am »

Can you change BIOS settings for the controller to "legacy mode" or similar?
Logged

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1342
Re: DMA and Xine
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2007, 05:45:50 am »

Not really.. BIOS is set to detect all devices.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz