VectorLinux
October 23, 2014, 02:44:50 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: DMA and Xine  (Read 4707 times)
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« on: June 16, 2007, 03:45:52 pm »

Tossed a DVD into the player this evening and the play was extremely choppy. So I bugged out to toss this command in and received:

root:# hdparm -d1 /dev/dvd

/dev/dvd:
 setting using_dma to 1 (on)
 HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
 using_dma    =  0 (off)

As I understand it, to get this to work involves a recompile of the kernel. First question is, how and what do I use to get DMA to work, and second, why isn't DMA included as default?
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2007, 04:43:42 pm »

As I understand it, to get this to work involves a recompile of the kernel.
Probably not.

First question is, how and what do I use to get DMA to work...
I was given 2 links about this, but haven't tried yet:
http://thomer.com/howtos/dma_on_sata_dvd.html
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Problems_with_SATA_and_Linux#No_DMA_on_DVD_drive

...and second, why isn't DMA included as default?
This seems to be something the sata driver devs need to address.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2007, 01:37:12 pm »

Try this as root:

echo 1024 >  /proc/sys/dev/rtc/max-user-freq

That should fix it and add it to /etc/rc.d/rc.local.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2007, 01:47:25 pm »

Bigpaws, what should that add? I didn't see anything in the file after executing the echo command.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2007, 03:30:39 pm »

Now try xine. It sets the size of rtc.

Bigpaws
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2007, 03:59:45 am »

Still choppy and jerky... Not much change at all.  Funny thing is, MPlayer works fairly well to where the dvd is watchable.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2007, 04:11:24 am »

Can you change BIOS settings for the controller to "legacy mode" or similar?
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2007, 04:45:50 am »

Not really.. BIOS is set to detect all devices.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!