VectorLinux
October 01, 2014, 02:25:10 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: xorg.conf Installation Troubles  (Read 7151 times)
Tracer Tong
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2007, 10:56:36 pm »

lspci:  command not found
cardctl: command not found
lsmod:
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
xt_limit                3200  0
xt_pkttype              2688  0
ipt_REJECT              4864  1
xt_tcpudp               3968  4
ipt_LOG                 6144  0
xt_state                2816  7
iptable_mangle          3200  0
iptable_nat             6660  0
iptable_filter          3328  1
ip_conntrack_irc        6128  0
ip_nat_ftp              3584  0
ip_nat                 13868  2 iptable_nat,ip_nat_ftp
ip_conntrack_ftp        6640  1 ip_nat_ftp
ip_conntrack           37600  6 xt_state,iptable_nat,ip_conntrack_irc,ip_nat_ftp,ip_nat,ip_conntrack_ftp
ip_tables              12020  3 iptable_mangle,iptable_nat,iptable_filter
x_tables               11140  8 xt_limit,xt_pkttype,ipt_REJECT,xt_tcpudp,ipt_LOG,xt_state,iptable_nat,ip_tables
snd_seq_midi            6944  0
cpufreq_conservative     6536  0
cpufreq_ondemand        5900  0
cpufreq_performance     2816  0
cpufreq_powersave       2560  0
speedstep_lib           4740  0
freq_table              4512  0
sg                     25500  0
fuse                   37780  0
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            27392  0
snd_seq_midi_event      6528  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                42320  6 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_pcm_oss            37280  0
snd_mixer_oss          14080  2 snd_pcm_oss
3c574_cs               11912  1
pcmcia                 22560  1 3c574_cs
evdev                   8320  0
serio_raw               6148  0
snd_es1968             23296  1
gameport               11912  1 snd_es1968
snd_ac97_codec         80160  1 snd_es1968
snd_ac97_bus            3072  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                61828  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_es1968,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              18692  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          8072  2 snd_es1968,snd_pcm
snd_mpu401_uart         7040  1 snd_es1968
snd_rawmidi            18592  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          6924  5 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
snd                    39780  11 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_es1968,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore               8032  2 snd
radio_maestro           6784  0
compat_ioctl32          2176  1 radio_maestro
videodev               21504  1 radio_maestro
v4l1_compat            12164  1 videodev
yenta_socket           22156  4
rsrc_nonstatic         10624  1 yenta_socket
v4l2_common            19712  1 videodev
pcmcia_core            31512  4 3c574_cs,pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
pcspkr                  3456  0
« Last Edit: June 28, 2007, 11:11:41 pm by Tracer Tong » Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2007, 07:36:51 am »

lspci:  command not found
cardctl: command not found


As I said in my previous post you have to run those commands as "root" in a terminal. lspci and cardctl can only be run by root. That is why you get the command not found error message. Please rerun them as root.

lsmod shows that you do have a module loaded for the NIC card (3c574_cs) so that probably means the card is working and detected by the kernel, so at least we know that much. Please show us the output to the other two commands.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Tracer Tong
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2007, 08:14:43 am »

When I run cardctl it lectures me about the usage of the command.  I used "cardctl status", to which I got the output "no pcmcia driver in /proc/devices

lspci:
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Toshiba America Info Systems CPU to PCI and PCI to ISA bridge (rev 01)
00:07.0 Communication controller: Agere Systems 56k WinModem (rev 01)
00:08.0 VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. ViRGE/MX (rev 06)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 02)
00:0c.0 Multimedia audio controller: ESS Technology ES1978 Maestro 2E (rev 10)
00:10.0 IDE interface: Toshiba America Info Systems EX-IDE Type-B (rev 34)
00:13.0 CardBus bridge: Toshiba America Info Systems ToPIC97 (rev 07)
00:13.1 CardBus bridge: Toshiba America Info Systems ToPIC97 (rev 07)
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #18 on: June 30, 2007, 09:12:47 am »

Well lsmod shows you have both the pcmcia driver loaded and the 3C NIC driver, so things "should be" OK. Now run the following commands and post the output here:

ifconfig
route -n

Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Tracer Tong
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2007, 06:03:27 pm »

route -n
Code:
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo


ifconfig
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:04:B3:60:EE 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:156 (156.0 b)
          Interrupt:3 Base address:0x300

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #20 on: July 01, 2007, 06:24:29 pm »

As root try dhcpcd eth0
then ifconfig you are looking for an inet addr.

Bigpaws
Logged
Tracer Tong
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #21 on: July 01, 2007, 07:41:38 pm »

I ran both of those commands and nothing different happens.  When i run dhcpcd eth0 in terminal as root, it will sit there for a few seconds, then display the prompt again, but nothing seems to happen, the output of ifconfig looks about the same as well, TX packets is at 14, carrier is at 12, and TX bytes is 324 but other than that it's the same.

When I try to access a website using dillo I get the error message Dns can't solve *url I'm trying to go to*
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2007, 03:43:27 pm »

Try "cat /etc/resolv.conf" and tell us what it says, and also tell us the name of your ISP.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Tracer Tong
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #23 on: July 02, 2007, 08:21:38 pm »

I don't think my ISP should be an issue, I can connect fine using the Ubuntu machine I'm writing this post on.

cat /etc/resolv.conf
Code:
# Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth1
nameserver 205.171.3.65

Okay, I'll try running "dhcpcd eth1" now.
Logged
Tracer Tong
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #24 on: July 02, 2007, 08:25:20 pm »

Running dhcpcd eth1 doesn't make any difference, and why would it, when I run ifconfig eth0 and io show up.  So why does that other command output something about eth1?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #25 on: July 03, 2007, 12:58:56 am »

Quote
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:50:04:B3:60:EE 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:156 (156.0 b)
          Interrupt:3 Base address:0x300

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

The problem is no inet addr in eth0. Without an ip address, the ethernet card
being eth0 can not communicate to anything else.

FYI lo is a loopback device for internal connections.

You will not get anything to return from running dhcpcd because it is
calling the network for an ip address for eth0. The change will be noted by seeing an
inet addr after eth0.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!