VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Installing K3b  (Read 3711 times)

ramesh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Installing K3b
« on: July 09, 2007, 07:15:19 am »

Hello

How to install K3b in VL 5.8 Standard ?
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3234
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2007, 07:21:55 am »

open gslapt and hit the update button
Then search for k3b
click the checkbox on the left and select install

_or_

From a terminal as root

Code: [Select]
# slapt-get --update
# slapt-get --install k3b

ramesh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2007, 08:51:33 am »

Dear MOElnx,
Issued the command slapt-get --install k3b

The out put is:

k3b is already up to date

But cant open the programme - not seen in anyof the menu and also cannot run the programme from terminal  What went wrong
{I am comparatively new to Linux}
Thanks !
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2007, 09:01:15 am »

I believe k3b has some dependencies that maybe haven't been met - kde, specifically.  Have a look here to see the necessary requirements: http://k3b.plainblack.com/requirements

I believe the reason for it not being included with Standard is due to the KDE dependency.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3234
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2007, 09:06:14 am »

If you installed k3b using slapt-get or gslapt, it should have taken care of the deps.

My guess is that it could be a bad .desktop file

try executing k3b as user in a terminal

look out for any error messages and post back

BTW, the full requirements for the k3b package are listed in it's meta data
ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/testing/kde/k3b-1.0.1-i586-1vl58.meta

ramesh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2007, 09:50:06 am »

Dear MoE-lnx,

By isuing the command    user$ k3b,    I get the following output -


k3b: error while loading shared libraries: libkparts.so.2: cannot open object file: no such file or directory


How to proceed ?
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3234
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2007, 10:16:26 am »

Sounds like you're missing kdelibs

Code: [Select]
# slapt-get --install kdelibs

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2007, 11:49:50 am »

I agree with M0E-linux.  In addition you'll need updated dvd+rw tools if you want to burn DVDs.  The updated packag in in our patches repository.  Here is the catch:  patches is NOT included in your /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc file by default.  There are two solutions:

1. Install a newer version of slapt-get currently in the testing repository, or
2. Add the following line to your /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc file:
Quote
SOURCE=ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/patches/

I, personally, would recommend #2.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

ramesh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2007, 11:38:12 pm »

Dear Moe-lnx,

issued the command --#slapt-get --install kdelibs   The out put is given below:

Reading package lists ...... Done
Excluding Kdelibs use --ignore-dep to override
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
arts: Depends: qt >= 3.3.7 -i5865vl58
The following packages have been EXCLUDED:
Kdelibs
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed0 to remove and 1 not upgraded
Done   What to do  ?     Using VL5.8 standard
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3234
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2007, 05:29:02 am »

Code: [Select]
# slapt-get --install qt kdelibs

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2007, 09:31:38 am »

That won't do it.  You need to enable your patches repository as I described above to upgrade qt to 3.3.7. 

Quote
2. Add the following line to your /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc file:
Code: [Select]
SOURCE=ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/patches/

Then you need to update your package listing.  Only then can you install kdelibs.  The two steps are:
Quote
slapt-get --update
slapt-get --install kdelibs

Since arts and qt are dependencies of kdelibs all will be upgraded or installed.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2007, 10:26:02 am by caitlyn »
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

ramesh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2007, 04:01:45 pm »

Dar Caitlyn,


Added the line as you said to slapt-getrc file .  issued the command- out put is:

Sources failed to download.  Correct sources and rerun --update.  What went wrong  ?
Logged

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2878
    • The Linux Works
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2007, 04:40:21 pm »

One of two things went wrong:

1. You have an error (typo) on the line

-or-

2.  You lost connectivity to the ftp server.

I can't say which from here.  Check and make sure every character is right in the /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc file.
Logged
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

wcs

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1144
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2007, 08:02:52 pm »

From what I remember, upgrading qt can fail because it needs mysql which is in the extra repository (although I ight be wrong).
If you haven't done this already, the source ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/extra/ should be added (and enabled) in your SOURCES tab in  the preferences in gslapt (or added to the file /etc/slapt-get/slaptgetrc).

For me the best way to do it is to have the packages, patches, extra, and testing repositories added and then enabling or disabling them in gslapt as needed. Usually, I just keep patches and extra enabled when doing an upgrade; and the testing repository enabled for installing specific packages that I would like to try.
Logged

ramesh

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Installing K3b
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2007, 10:10:29 am »

Hi all,

Installed k3b from Gslapt.   But it is not listed in the menu.. How to include it under the menu   ?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2