VectorLinux
November 27, 2014, 04:52:01 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Reverse DNS lookup  (Read 3245 times)
davidkline
Member
*
Posts: 28


« on: July 11, 2007, 03:15:03 pm »

Hallo,

I'm running VL STD 5.1 and I'd like to find the hostname given an IP address. Ideally, I'd like to know if there is a command/utility that I pass the IP address and have it return the hostname. Is this possible? Does a command/utility exist? I think this is referred to 'reverse dns lookup?'

Thanks,
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2290


« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2007, 03:30:40 pm »

You can use an online service, there is a lot of them:

http://remote.12dt.com/
« Last Edit: July 11, 2007, 03:32:51 pm by rbistolfi » Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
davidkline
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2007, 03:53:23 pm »

I need to be able to run from a command line.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2007, 04:02:28 pm »

Simple it is called whois.

Bigpaws
Logged
davidkline
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2007, 05:04:50 pm »

I tried to find 'whios' on my system (VL STD 5.1) and it is not there. Where can I acquire the source?
Logged
metvas
Vectorite
***
Posts: 311


« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2007, 05:30:23 pm »

If Whois is listed privately (an extra cost for the owner), it will not show up there.
Do not know how to access a private DNS, thats why it is private I suppose.
Regards
Darrell
Logged

Knowledge is Power, share it.
Be the change you want to see in the World
davidkline
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2007, 03:21:33 am »

I've seen usage of the host command. It is available in VL, but when ran it terminates with a segmentation fault. Any ideas?
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2007, 04:21:10 am »

Did you try as root, and research your logs?

Bigpaws
Logged
davidkline
Member
*
Posts: 28


« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2007, 12:14:49 pm »

I ended up downloading the latest version of bind and the host application now works.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!