VectorLinux
October 01, 2014, 04:08:41 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: internet sharing + vector + home pc + other pc  (Read 2378 times)
tab0reqq
Member
*
Posts: 36



« on: July 24, 2007, 02:42:30 am »

Hey,

Im trying to set this up from 2 days and im still stuck.
Im using: old P3 500, 64ram, Vector on it, 2 ethernet cards. One card connected to DSL CABLE modem and second connected with other pc (win xp on it) with cross-cable (working one).

eth0 - local, the one i want to share with 2nd pc
eth1 - card connected with cable modem

Actually i have internet on Vector, can ping windows xp and windows pings me. My steps:
VECTOR:
su >> nano /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 >> eth0, ip: 192.168.0.1, netmask: 255.255.255.0, gateway: 192.168.0.255, DHCP: no
su >> nano /etc/rc.d/rc.inet2 >> eth1, DHCP: yes, all other blank
WINDOWS:
ip: 192.168.0.2
mask: 255.255.255.0
gateway: 192.168.0.1
dns: 194.204.159.1 / 194.204.152.34 (both 100% working polish dns)

after I run /etc/rc.d/rc.inet2 start i get internet on Vector. I can ping Windows from VL, and ping VL from Vector, but I dont have internet on Windows.

Next i run:
su >> vasm >> firewall >> new >> gateway >> enable all services for client >> done

Still no internet on Windows - only ping works.

PLEASE, help me step by step. I was searching for answer for my problem on forum but as far no results. Please - i think many can have same problem.

p.s. I forgot to add. Modifying any INET configurations from VASM -. super > INET gives no results. None of files is modified, and also, as i wrote on previous post, automatic DHCP after restart also doesn't work. WHat the heck is going on? Smiley Is it all with cable connection due modem and with 2 ethernet cards onboard ?
« Last Edit: July 24, 2007, 02:45:52 am by tab0reqq » Logged

Software: VL 5.8 Gold | Kernel 2.6.19.2 | X.org 6.9 | Xfce 4.4
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3257


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2007, 02:47:58 am »

not sure about the solution for your question.....but why don't just purchase a router.........
create a small LAN in your place.......then both vector and XP can access the internet..... Grin
Logged
tab0reqq
Member
*
Posts: 36



« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2007, 03:10:54 am »

I know its the best solution, but i cant. Smiley I want to do this low-cost or other = no cost at all.

If i have both pcs, both working so why i should try other solutions? Smiley

So again,
please help
Logged

Software: VL 5.8 Gold | Kernel 2.6.19.2 | X.org 6.9 | Xfce 4.4
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2007, 03:27:47 am »

This one

http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum1/index.php?topic=4823.0
or this one
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InternetConnectionSharing

Bigpaws
Logged
tab0reqq
Member
*
Posts: 36



« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2007, 04:54:23 pm »

Thx a lot for links, but... Maybe im stupid but IT DOESNT WORK. SAme steps.
Logged

Software: VL 5.8 Gold | Kernel 2.6.19.2 | X.org 6.9 | Xfce 4.4
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1850


« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2007, 05:42:28 pm »

Please post your iptables so it can be checked.

Bigpaws
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!