VectorLinux
September 18, 2014, 09:22:18 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: lm_sensors/coretemp  (Read 11029 times)
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« on: July 27, 2007, 11:43:05 am »

Hello, all.

I've tried installing lm_sensors (from gslapt) and running the sensors_detect utility. Apparently I should get the coretemp driver to get the CPU temperatures.
For now, running sensors tells me that there are no sensors available.

After googling it for a while, I don't see an easy way to do this. Is this a kernel driver that needs to be compiled against the kernel? Or do I need to recompile the kernel?

It seems that newer kernel versions include coretemp, but from what I read, only the latest 2.6.22.

Thank you
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2007, 12:29:03 pm »

I'm on VL5.8 Standard.  I got it running by using info from this page.  http://linuxappliancedesign.com/articles/sensors/sensors.html

I didn't setup the rc  I just ran
Quote
sensors-detect
as root.  I think I answered everything "YES".
It will print out info to add to a rc file. This was mine:
Quote
To load everything that is needed, add this to some /etc/rc* file:

#----cut here----
# I2C adapter drivers
modprobe i2c-viapro
# Chip drivers
modprobe eeprom
modprobe w83627hf
# sleep 2 # optional
/usr/local/bin/sensors -s # recommended
#----cut here----

So I manually ran modprobe for each module.

Then "sensors" worked.  But I need to do it all over on reboot.  At least until I finish setting it up.

Oh yeah....  Im_sensors I'm using is from our repo.  Good luck!
« Last Edit: July 27, 2007, 12:34:33 pm by exeterdad » Logged
roseway
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 135



« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2007, 10:29:53 pm »

Right at the end, sensors-detect asks the question:

Do you want to overwrite /etc/sysconfig/lm_sensors? (YES/no)

which I answered with YES, and this sets up the automatic loading of the modules at boot time. In my case, the following entries were added to /etc/sysconfig/lm_sensors:

MODULE_0=i2c-viapro
MODULE_1=eeprom
MODULE_2=it87
MODULE_3=k8temp

and this all works fine.
Logged

Eric
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2007, 01:59:40 pm »

So everything is loaded at boot?  Mine does not.  I also have a /etc/sysconfig/lm_sensors with the needed modules listed.  Here's the contents of mine:
Quote
#    /etc/sysconfig/lm_sensors - Defines modules loaded by
#                                /etc/init.d/lm_sensors
#    Copyright (c) 1998 - 2001  Frodo Looijaard <frodol@dds.nl>
#
#    This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify
#    it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as published by
#    the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of the License, or
#    (at your option) any later version.
#
#    This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
#    but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
#    MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.  See the
#    GNU General Public License for more details.
#
#    You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
#    along with this program; if not, write to the Free Software
#    Foundation, Inc., 675 Mass Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139, USA.
#
#
# See also the lm_sensors homepage at:
#     http://www.lm-sensors.org/
#
# This file is used by /etc/init.d/lm_sensors and defines the modules to
# be loaded/unloaded. This file is sourced into /etc/init.d/lm_sensors.
#
# The format of this file is a shell script that simply defines the modules
# in order as normal variables with the special names:
#    MODULE_0, MODULE_1, MODULE_2, etc.
#
# List the modules that are to be loaded for your system
#
# Generated by sensors-detect on Fri Jul 27 16:21:19 2007
MODULE_0=i2c-viapro
MODULE_1=eeprom
MODULE_2=w83627hf

I wonder if yours is different (aside from the modules)?  Did you add anything to a startup script? I know could load my modules at startup if I really cared about monitoring my temps.  I just installed it to test this cpu I was complaining about in another thread.
Logged
roseway
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 135



« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2007, 10:35:53 pm »

I didn't need to do anything manually - it just worked after running sensors-detect, followed by a reboot. I wonder if this is a difference between SOHO and Standard?

Of course, for the benefit of wcs the 'Cut here' section printed by sensors-detect could be pasted into /etc/rc.d/rc.local if the modules don't load automatically.
Logged

Eric
incognu
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 256



WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2007, 11:06:25 am »

Hmm, I don't think I tried it without putting the lines in my /etc/rc.d/rc.local file ...

snip:
Code:
## for lm_sensors
# I2C adapter drivers
modprobe i2c-i801
# Chip drivers
modprobe eeprom
modprobe w83627hf
# sleep 2 # optional
/usr/local/bin/sensors -s # recommended

Re the kernel drivers/coretemp, I think it's worked fine with kernels from 2.6.18.5 or so, through 2.6.22.1: certainly with 2.6.20, 21 and 22.  I don't recall having to do anything special in the kernel config to get lm_sensors working, but it's been a while since I installed so I may have forgotten.
Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1073


« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2007, 05:44:02 pm »

Well, THRM worked in all the 5.8 SOHO kernels that I've used and I didn't need lm_sensors. I have a Toshiba Satellite A15 laptop. It's the other things (function keys, suspend support, etc.) that I still have yet to get operational.
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2007, 05:32:41 am »

Thank all of you for your answers.

The acpi THRM doesn't work here. It always gives me 40 no matter what. Don't know why... Maybe it's something to do with the motherboard.

As for lm_sensors:
I ran sensors_detect again and I can now get the CPU temperature from the w83627dhg-isa-0290 module.

sensors_detect does however detect another sensor (I suppose in the CPU) that requires the coretemp module.
Apparently, this would allow me to get the temperatures of each core independently. Not that I care much about it, but I'm just wondering if these would be more accurate (I'm getting a maximum of 35C with two instances of mprime running, which I thought was a bit low).

I don't seem to find the coretemp module though... or at least, I don't know which patch to download or how to get it running. It is this coretemp module that is (I think) included in the 2.6.22 kernel.

Because I am getting the temperature with the other module, it's not much of a problem, but I was wondering if anyone got the coretemp one working for Intel CPUs with two cores.

Thanks, again

Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2007, 06:25:28 am »

I didn't know it would mess with either core. That's pretty cool ( no pun).

Wanted to add for the heck of it.  Running
Quote
sensors -f
will give Fahrenheit temps if you are Celsius challenged like me.   
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2007, 07:17:48 am »

Quote
Wanted to add for the heck of it.  Running

You mean you got the coretemp module running?
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2007, 10:24:48 am »

Oooops.  No I didn't even try.  I'm on a different box today.  I sort of combined two thoughts.  Sorry about that. 
Quote
Wanted to add for the heck of it.  Running
  Was part of the sentence about sensor -f.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1261



« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2007, 02:46:31 am »

OK you guys... I've been farting around with this since this thread was started and I'm stumped. I've done everything suggested here, and sensors does not work. Manual modprobe commands appear to work, but when sensors -f is typed in the console, I receive:

Code:
No sensors found!
Make sure you loaded all the kernel drivers you need.
Try sensors-detect to find out which these are.

Yeah, I've run sensors-detect. Many times. Me thinks I'm missing some things in the kernel? Running the  2.6.21 kernel that's CK2 patched.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
incognu
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 256



WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2007, 05:43:58 am »

Hmm, maybe items in Hardware Monitoring under Device Drivers in the kernel config?  Seems like if the modules you need were missing, you'd get a gripe about it when running modprobe, though.   Huh
Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2007, 07:48:12 am »

retired1af

Just wanted to know I can't help you with that.  I'm not using lm_sensors on this box.  I had to retire the other computer since I can't afford to replace the cpu.  That box had the -ck2 kernel and a stock kernel on it.  I don't remember which kernel I was running when using lm_sensors. 

Sorry  Undecided
Logged
incognu
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 256



WWW
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2007, 08:42:29 am »

I just took a look at the config for the ck-patched kernel package (kernel-ck2-2.6.21-i586-2vl58) ;  it looks to me like the hardware monitoring modules are enabled.  The only modules I see not enabled are:
  • Analog Devices AD7416, AD7417 and AD7418 (NEW)
  • Analog Devices ADM1029
  • Intel Core (2) Duo/Solo temperature sensor (NEW)
  • Maxim MAX6650 sensor chip (NEW)
  • Apple SMC (Motion sensor, light sensor, keyboard backlight) (NEW)
  • Hardware Monitoring Chip debugging messages

Maybe I'm missing something (I'm no guru, so that's fairly likely) but it seems like, unless your hardware matches one of those, the problem doesn't lie with missing kernel modules. 
[edit: missing as in not compiled]
« Last Edit: July 31, 2007, 02:17:12 pm by incognu » Logged

Vector Linux 6.0 Light
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!