VectorLinux
July 25, 2014, 02:56:08 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Error compiling Ralink RT2500 drivers in VL 5.8 Std  (Read 2308 times)
said

« on: July 27, 2007, 01:57:58 pm »

hi, I have the same card but I don't understand what I've to do to install the driver. Please help! Huh  sorry but I'm a noob
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2007, 02:06:13 pm »

here is the driver:
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.0/updates/rt2500-20050418_2.6.12-i586-4vl5.tgz
download it then as root do
installpkg rt2500-20050418_2.6.12-i586-4vl5.tgz
said

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2007, 02:20:31 pm »

thanks for the answer! I installed the driver but I can't see any changes: the command iwconfig doesn't show my card in the list Huh
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2007, 04:17:09 pm »

said,
can you post the out put of the following commands?

cat /etc/vector-version
uname -r

thanks,
Uelsk8s
said

« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2007, 02:28:22 am »

Code:
cat /etc/vector-version
Vector Linux 5.8 Standard 12-16-2006

Code:
uname -r

now i'm going to try to update the system with my ethernet card
mithion

« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2007, 02:55:15 pm »

There are several things you can try to see if your card is loaded.  First off, you can enter
Code:
lsmod
This will list the modules that are loaded in the kernel.  You should look for an entry called rt2500.  If it's not there, you can try the following commands.
Code:
depmod -aq
Code:
modprobe -i rt2500