VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: How do I get the network to start automatically on boot up?  (Read 2792 times)

rhauff

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105

I have a static IP set and using VASM > Network > Inet > Start I choose inet 1 (eth0) from the list and it starts fine.  How can I make this start automatically on bootup?

Thanks
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
Re: How do I get the network to start automatically on boot up?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2007, 06:58:31 pm »

I believe in VASM there is an option to start on boot.

You can test your card after booting with lsmod to check the
drivers are installed, and ping to test the card.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged

rhauff

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: How do I get the network to start automatically on boot up?
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2007, 04:12:57 am »

Where in VASM?  I haven't found it yet.
Logged

Jerry

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: How do I get the network to start automatically on boot up?
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2007, 09:55:18 am »

Where in VASM?  I haven't found it yet.

 :D ::)

Sorry..
Logged

rhauff

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: How do I get the network to start automatically on boot up?
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2007, 07:17:13 pm »

????????????

Sorry I haven't found it yet, or Sorry it's not in there????  (The latter I'm guessing)
Logged

Jerry

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: How do I get the network to start automatically on boot up?
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2007, 05:37:53 am »

????????????

Sorry I haven't found it yet, or Sorry it's not in there????  (The latter I'm guessing)

I'm just amazed, that's all.  And I'm sure some here have been amazed at a few of
my questions.  :D

Anyway, I don't know if you're using KDE, but if you are just click the main KDE menu
button on the far left of your taskbar there, then mouse up to "system," mouse to
"administration," then you'll see VASM.   ;)

Then go to "super vasm."  Then, after giving your password, go to "set services for
each run level." 

I think that's the right order.. something like that.

There is also the possibility that I don't understand your question or what it is
exactly that you're looking for.. I do that often..   ;D
« Last Edit: August 04, 2007, 05:41:38 am by jerrybasham »
Logged

rhauff

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: How do I get the network to start automatically on boot up?
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2007, 08:12:35 am »

I forgot to mention I'm running 5.8 Std with Xfce.  I do have inetd set to run, and I've tried it with and w/o the ifplugd.

I've noticed in dmesg that the "eth0: link up" comes very near the end of the list.  I don't know quite how things are sequenced during bootup, but I'm guessing the link is not up yet when inetd tries to connect.
Logged