VectorLinux
April 16, 2014, 07:53:35 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Before I attempt another install  (Read 2339 times)
windtalker
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: August 01, 2007, 07:58:50 pm »

A few days ago I tried to install the newest Soho, (being a noob somewhat I'm assuming I downloaded and burned the proper version). I ended up with a black screen about 97% of the way through the install. I havn't given up however. I came back and read some more and downloaded and burned the live cd. I tried it out. I don't care for KDE but I do like what Soho has to offer. I understand I have the option to go with a Gnome desktop. My questions before installing are these....  I have a Dell Dimension 4600, w/ a pentium 4 processor, an Nvidia GForce 6200 video card, 250 gig hard drive, 1 1/2 gigs of ram and I use WildBlue which has 1 1/2 meg download and about 356kbps upload. (when weather permits that is. Am I compatible with VL Soho and what types of things should I be aware of before attempting an install? In the last month or so I've gone through roughly a dozen Linux OS's and have found only one I'm ok with. But,,,,,,, after being on windows for so many years it seems I can't get enough Linux into my system and I want the best out there. Oh yeah, shouldn't I be able to connect to the net with the live cd? I couldn't.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2007, 08:02:04 pm by windtalker » Logged
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2007, 08:25:32 pm »

What do you mean by "black screen"? It is possible that the monitor simply entered power saving mode.

Also, have you done MD5 verification of the ISO?
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
windtalker
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2007, 08:37:23 pm »

If the option is offered I always verify an iso before attempting an install. This one checked out ok in this case. What I mean by black screen is,,, the words came up on my screen checking hardware or verifying hardware, something to that effect. the entire screen was black except for the font. Then the font went by-by, for over half an hour. I rebooted manually and got the setup font, the splash screen and then the login screen. However the login wasn't accepted. This makes me think I downloaded an unstable version by simply not knowing.  I'm mainly concerned about the wildblue and my nvidia video card. Common sense kinda dictates to me that the wild blue shouldn't be a prob, however the nvidia might be.
Logged
carsten
Vectorite
***
Posts: 137


I know why birds sing ...


« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2007, 10:28:21 pm »

Hy,
I made a few day ago some bad experience with a Nvidia 6200 Graphic adapter.
If your board has on-board graphics, it could be helpfull to try first an install without the Nvidia card. If this works, rigg up the card again, boot into tui (text user interface), log in as root, start vasm, make hardware detection.
If the problem is showing up again, you have a positive proof that the suspected is guilty.

Disclaimer: Nvidia products are great for Linux but according to my (limited) experience not this one specific graphic adapter (I use the Nvidia GeForce 5200 and I am satisfied within limitations. Its cheap inexpensive and that´s what you get). The 6200 seemed to work slightly better with the legacy-driver than the latest from Nvidia (100.14.11)

Carsten
« Last Edit: August 01, 2007, 10:30:11 pm by carsten » Logged

Tam exacte ut oportet, non ut licet!
virtuallinux
Member
*
Posts: 14



« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2007, 08:07:02 pm »

I don't know if this might be your problem or not, but when I installed vector I remember my screen going blank during the install process.  I just hit the space bar and everything came back up.
Logged

Vector 5.8 Std Gold
Compaq Armada 7800 laptop
266MHz p2
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3200


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2007, 10:49:19 pm »

Quote
I don't know if this might be your problem or not, but when I installed vector I remember my screen going blank during the install process.  I just hit the space bar and everything came back up.

the monitor or LCD go to power save mode.... Tongue
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2007, 10:22:11 am »

If it's not a power saving mode issue then you may want to redo your install this time skipping (i.e. unselecting) the display setup - maybe it's called X-display setup.  I seem to recall some folks having issues during installation related to their graphics card.  One method of dealing with this issue is to skip the video (X-display) setup and do it manually after all is installed.  Once you have VL installed and booted you can edit your xorg.conf file and add the most generic support for video (vesa).  If it works, then you can try moving up to the next step of using a nvidia-specific driver.

HTH
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!