VectorLinux
October 30, 2014, 03:41:11 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: VL 5.8.6 SOHO RC1 BUG THREAD  (Read 12663 times)
JohnB316
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1346


Registered Linux User #386728


« on: August 02, 2007, 08:03:54 pm »

Post any bug reports and/or annoyances about VL 5.8.6 SOHO RC 1 in this thread. Let's leave the announcement clean. Thanks very much.

Cheers,
John
Logged

VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.
larryd782
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2007, 11:22:51 am »

I downloaded last night and so far everything is good to go.  I really liked 5.8 SOHO but when it did not have xorg 7.2 it was a show stopper for me. Glad you fixed it.
The only thing I can complain about is every time I start up I have to turn on Beryl.  It will not stay when I shut Down.
I think Vector is going to the top of the pile.
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2007, 03:06:26 pm »

... I really liked 5.8 SOHO but when it did not have xorg 7.2 it was a show stopper for me.
Why exactly is not having xorg 7.2 a show stopper?
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1552


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2007, 05:01:10 am »

The Beryl settings need to be tweaked for KDE. For instance the default screenshot program is "gnome-screenschot", this should be changed to "kscreenshot".

Also, I noticed that some things sometimes show up as black windows with beryl, like konsole. Also, kmenu's sub menu's sometimes show up as black rectangles.


[edit]
(removed beryl bashing to prevent provoking further Beryl talk in this thread)
[/edit]

ps. it would be cool if the unused sides of the cube had a VL logo rather than the default beryl logo on it.


[edit]

Some programs think the win32 codecs should be in /usr/lib/win32, but the codecs package installs them to /usr/lib/codecs. AFAIK this place is correct, but can we please have a symlink /usr/lib/win32 pointing to /usr/lib/codecs for backward compatibility? There is one in 5.8 standard, but not on SOHO. Programs built on standard might look for codecs in /usr/lib/win32 (like my kaffeine package does).

[/edit]
« Last Edit: August 12, 2007, 02:46:14 am by The Headacher » Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
hpearlman
Member
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2007, 07:07:53 am »

Well on my pentium M 1.7 sony laptop VGN-fs840) with a gig of ram nearly everything ran perfect, with the following two exceptions:

The substitute for windows fonts package did not install and the beryl package would not load and fell back to the default windows manger.  (I also don't like the initial boot menu - looks really drab).  It found my default resolution (let X figure it out) at 1280 x 800 - perhaps that option and also 1600 x 1050 should be included in this xorg.conf too?

Aside from that wonderful app, very fast as usual and all the other stuff works (wifi, sound) well outta the box!  I like the default background with the Vector Linux Logo chiseled into rock.  Good job!!!

Addendum:  X picked up the proper resolution for both my monitors.  But I cannot move system type apps in my panel.  Example:  Laptop Battery Icon can't be moved.  Kwifi Icon can't be moved with rt click.  All apps installed by "Add App to Panel move around."   Can you fix this?
« Last Edit: August 06, 2007, 01:01:11 am by hpearlman » Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2007, 07:24:11 am »

I have had a few problems, first I didn't get the non USA keyboard settings, I got the file not found error that we had previously in an earlier soho beta.    Secondly when starting Beryl I got a crash error message.  Thirdly you can't change the individual desktop backgrounds.  Also when you try to add more virtual desktops it does it in groups of 4.  I have to say I found the eyecandy of Beryl very very distracting and not at all useful... a case of bells and whistles getting in the way, but that is a personal issue.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2007, 11:47:32 am by Lyn » Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2007, 07:27:45 am »

Beryl also crashed here, and KDE reverted back to using KWin. Here is thew backtrace:

Code:
(no debugging symbols found)
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/tls/libthread_db.so.1".
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread -1236461856 (LWP 3851)]
[KCrash handler]
#5  0xb6cb7847 in raise () from /lib/tls/libc.so.6
#6  0xb6cb90d9 in abort () from /lib/tls/libc.so.6
#7  0xb6cb0e46 in __assert_fail () from /lib/tls/libc.so.6
#8  0xb64ee6a8 in xcb_xlib_lock () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libxcb-xlib.so.0
#9  0x00000029 in ?? ()
#10 0xb64ee792 in ?? () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libxcb-xlib.so.0
#11 0xb794e994 in ?? ()
#12 0xb6fb8a44 in ?? () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#13 0x080534d0 in ?? ()
#14 0xb6f26c89 in _XCBInitDisplayLock () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#15 0x00000719 in ?? ()
#16 0xb6f26c5d in _XCBInitDisplayLock () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#17 0x080534d0 in ?? ()
#18 0xb6f09a90 in XFreeCursor () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#19 0x00c00795 in ?? ()
#20 0xb6f09a7a in XFreeCursor () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#21 0x080534d0 in ?? ()
#22 0xb73aad2d in QCursorData::~QCursorData ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#23 0xb73ab2fb in QCursor::~QCursor () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#24 0xb73abfbd in QCursor::setBitmap () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#25 0xb6cba684 in __cxa_finalize () from /lib/tls/libc.so.6
#26 0xb73912d3 in ?? () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#27 0xb78ba6a0 in ?? () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#28 0xb7f14578 in ?? ()
#29 0xbfb5cf78 in ?? ()
#30 0xb7a687bb in ?? () from /opt/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#31 0xb71f3000 in ?? ()
#32 0xb78b27d8 in ?? () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#33 0xbfb5cf88 in ?? ()
#34 0xb77e52e7 in _fini () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#35 0xb77e52e7 in _fini () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#36 0xb7fbc947 in _dl_fini () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2
#37 0xb6cba417 in exit () from /lib/tls/libc.so.6
#38 0xb73916e2 in qt_badwindow () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#39 0xb7a6e06d in KApplication::xioErrhandler ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#40 0xb7a6e0b9 in KApplication::xioErrhandler ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#41 0xb6f21832 in _XIOError () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#42 0xb7fbbaa0 in _dl_runtime_resolve () from /lib/ld-linux.so.2
#43 0xb6f27562 in _XReadPad () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#44 0xb6f272fb in _XReadPad () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#45 0x00000000 in ?? ()

Logged

DaveDay
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2007, 06:35:06 am »

I am trying out the RC1.

Beryl crashes for me also, same dump as already posted.

Additionally, networking works fine sometimes but after most reboots I get "Network is Unreachable" messages.  I have switched e-net cards and get same results with both cards.

I haven't tried the live CD yet, I'll try that next.

I hope we can get past this show stopper, because, so far, I think SOHO is a keeper!

Dave
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1552


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2007, 07:43:38 am »

Quote
Additionally, networking works fine sometimes but after most reboots I get "Network is Unreachable" messages.  I have switched e-net cards and get same results with both cards.
So you have 2 network cards? in that case, you'll probably want to check this thread out:
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=979.0
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
DaveDay
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2007, 08:09:16 am »

The Headacher -

Thanks for your suggestion.

I don't have two card in the system at one time.  I switched the cards to ensure the problem wasn't just that SOHO didn't like that particular card.

Dave
Logged
Licaon
Member
*
Posts: 6



« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2007, 04:23:45 pm »

I've installed this RC1...
looks like there is no Dvorak keymap in the installer (there small come on!! Smiley )
after installing looks like running KEYMAP in the installer yields an "Error no X11 keymaps installed", hitting exit will exit the whole installer -> auto reboot
running vasm->keymap in mode 3 will yield the same error
running vasm->keymap in mode 4 (in KDE) will let me choose from a list of keymaps, but looks like the DVORAK one is broken, it keeps getting me back to the selector and not ask me to test the layout, BUT selecting other keymaps will work fine Sad

btw, some of the keymap options are for text mode and some for X, but iirc did not see any info about which is which.

running vleasytables from the KDE menu will start but none of the options work. running from vasm or the console works ok

that WindowDecoration is awful (big, ugly) Sad i would prefer Glow -> Glass (19x19)  as a default
Logged

d_garbage
Member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #11 on: August 11, 2007, 05:51:06 am »

Hello,
I have ati radeon 9550 card and find that the setup is toatlly borked....
Thanks,
d:)-'
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2007, 08:26:35 am »

That tells us a lot..  Undecided Define borked.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Vanger
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 118



WWW
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2007, 08:05:54 am »

Well, I built i965 drivers and I get:

libGL warning: 3D driver claims to not support visual 0x5a

when starting glxgears, wine, openoffice, etc.. Something bad with X?
What should I check?
« Last Edit: August 15, 2007, 08:09:57 am by Vanger » Logged

Running silent, running deep
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2007, 08:25:16 am »

run glxinfo and check to see if you are actually getting a visual at 0x5a
from what i found on google this is "Note that this is completely cosmetic and has no functional impact."

Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!