VectorLinux
July 31, 2014, 03:07:21 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: norton av  (Read 4540 times)
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« on: August 05, 2007, 12:59:23 pm »

Alright.

My moms 'new' box runs Doze 2000 and we got the latest Norton AV 2007.

I got a bogus message about how XP is required, but I somehow doubt the binary-level differences are sufficient to require such an upgrade.

Is there anyway to cheat this buggy bastard?
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2007, 01:41:06 pm »

Exact story with my father in laws win2k box.  He bought Norton's AV2007 because it was time to renew his subscription on his old Norton's AV

I spent a good chunk of my life listening to elevator music trying to find out from tech support to find our only solution was to purchase another years subscription to his old Norton's.  But it took two weeks of phone calls to get that fixed as well.  For whatever reason they claimed that his install had been reactivated too many times.  Some sort of piracy protection.  They had to make some sort of change to their server to make his Norton's connect.

I was not happy.  Then to rub salt into the wound a bit.  My father in law could not return his copy of AV2007 because the box had been opened.  He's a freaking police chief, not a software pirate.
Logged
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2007, 02:23:24 pm »

The lady at Staples said there's some kind of patch for Windows 2000 that lets it run Norton AV 2007.

She was short of giving us an actual address for that patch, so I have no way of knowing whether it's real or real as Fingolfin's sword Ringil.

Searches on the Symantec site have thus far been fruitless btw.
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2007, 02:50:00 pm »

I know this doesn't answer your question but my solution to Norton stuff is to be rid of it. It is way too resource intensive and intrusive for my liking and tends to slow some Doze machines to a crawl. AVG or Clamwin along with SpyBot or AdAware are much better free options. My humble opinion of course.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2007, 03:54:06 pm »

lagagnon beat me to it.... I dislike Norton/Symantec AV products.  Heavy on resources, much to instrusive in the system, and overly interactive.  I would recommend AVG Free for home users - saves you money and is a better product.  Somekind of spyware protection may not be necessary if your mom if a cautious web surfer who DOESN'T use Internet Explorer.  Maybe a firewall too; I tend to use Comodo Free on other people systems (outpost pro$ for myself).
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1844


« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2007, 05:33:00 pm »

My recommendation as well AVG free addition and then Spybot and Adaware.

Personally I do all virus scanning at the primary router.

Bigpaws
Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2007, 05:56:46 pm »

A few years ago we did a pretty extensive test of different AV apps at our institute. The Norton AVs (and a couple of others too) would allow in an old floppy boot sector virus (and floppies were pretty much on the way out already by then!) and never saw the nasty beastie, which infected loads of stuff on the HDDs, even at the full protection settings. We really decided to permanently nuke Norton AV from our shortlist (without the possibility of a future parole) when we looked up the virus (as identified by a better AV app) in their own online database. Turns out it was specifically listed as detected and cleaned by it... Angry
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!