VectorLinux
November 26, 2014, 01:13:11 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Screensavers are slow!  (Read 2468 times)
chrisdragon
Member
*
Posts: 11



« on: August 05, 2007, 07:40:40 pm »

I noticed in the preview box they are smooth but when I test the screensaver, they move slow and choppy. I have an AMD 2800+, 2GB RAM and an X1600 Pro 512MB backing it up, what would be the deal with sluggish moving screensavers?
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2007, 07:49:56 pm »

You probably do not have the correct ATI drivers. Go to ati.amd.com and get the correct Linux driver and floow the instructions at their website EXACTLY and you should notice a significant improvement.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
chrisdragon
Member
*
Posts: 11



« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2007, 10:31:04 pm »

Log file:

[Warning] Driver : can't switch OpenGL library support to XFree86 4.x.x DRI method
[Warning]        : because package xf86_glx-4.*.i386.rpm is not installed.
[Warning]        : please install and run switch2xf86_glx afterwards.
[Message] Kernel Module : Trying to install a precompiled kernel module.
[Message] Kernel Module : Precompiled kernel module version mismatched.
[Message] Kernel Module : Found kernel module build environment, generating kernel module now.
ATI module generator V 2.0
==========================
initializing...
cleaning...
patching 'highmem.h'...
assuming new VMA API since we do have kernel 2.6.x...
 Assuming default VMAP API
 Assuming default munmap API
doing Makefile based build for kernel 2.6.x and higher
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.18.5/build SUBDIRS=/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.18.5'
  CC [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.o
In file included from /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/drm_proc.h:41,
                 from /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:366:
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/drmP.h:126:1: warning: "DRM_DEBUG_CODE" redefined
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:179:1: warning: this is the location of the previous definition
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:484: warning: initialization from incompatible pointer type
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c: In function `firegl_stub_open':
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:607: warning: assignment discards qualifiers from pointer target type
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c: In function `__ke_do_mmap':
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:1968: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c: In function `__ke_smp_call_function':
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:4330: warning: passing arg 1 of `smp_call_function' from incompatible pointer type
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c: In function `KCL_has_pat':
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:4512: warning: passing arg 2 of `constant_test_bit' from incompatible pointer type
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:4512: warning: passing arg 2 of `variable_test_bit' from incompatible pointer type
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c: In function `KAS_ExecuteAtLevel':
/lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/firegl_public.c:5139: warning: 'flags' might be used uninitialized in this function
  LD [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.o
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST
  CC      /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.mod.o
  LD [M]  /lib/modules/fglrx/build_mod/2.6.x/fglrx.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.18.5'
build succeeded with return value 0
duplicating results into driver repository...
done.
==============================
- recreating module dependency list
- trying a sample load of the kernel modules
done.

Did I miss something? I don't see xf86_glx-4 or switch2xf86_glx in the slaptget listing.  Huh Huh Huh
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2290


« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2007, 04:02:42 am »

Do you have the correct kernel sources installed?
Which version of VL are you using?
You can find it out doing

#cat /etc/vector-version
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
chrisdragon
Member
*
Posts: 11



« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2007, 11:13:58 am »

All I know is that I have VL 5.8 Smiley

Dunno about kernel version and other things.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2007, 11:22:07 am »

the module looks to me like it built correctly.
try changing the driver in /etc/X11/xorg.conf to fglrx and rebooting
Logged
chrisdragon
Member
*
Posts: 11



« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2007, 12:34:23 pm »

Change what, renaming it or something? Here's a piece of the .conf file...

Section "Monitor"
Identifier   "Monitor0"
VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName    "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 30-83
VertRefresh 56-75
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: : integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [
arg]: arg optional
#Option     "ShadowFB"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "DefaultRefresh"        # [<bool>]
#Option     "ModeSetClearScreen"    # [<bool>]
Identifier  "Card0"
Driver      "vesa"
VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
BoardName   "Unknown Board"
BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2007, 12:53:16 pm »

change this
Code:
Driver      "vesa"
so it says this
Code:
Driver      "fglrx"

then reboot
Logged
chrisdragon
Member
*
Posts: 11



« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2007, 01:34:00 pm »

Awesome, that worked! Thanks muchly!  Grin
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!