VectorLinux
October 31, 2014, 10:11:51 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Internet connection settings not saved  (Read 3698 times)
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« on: August 06, 2007, 10:30:39 am »

Developers: please correct me if I am wrong but it seems to me that a number of posts to the forum over the past 6 months have concerned two issues:

1) general Internet connection settings not saved properly when user reboots machine (sometimes)

2) wireless Internet connection settings not saved either upon reboot (usually)

I have not experienced such problems when installing VL5.8 Standard to a number of machines (probably over 40 of them by now). I have only installed VL 5.8 SOHO to two machines and both are fine. I am not convinced this is a system problem - it could be that the user is doing something funny during the install process or has other problems that appear to be an I/Net connection issue when it is really another problem somwhere else down the line, but nonetheless I do think it need some looking into. Perhaps it is VASM - it seems to occur more often when a user has used VASM to reset a connection that isn't workin??

I cannot comment on the wireless problems because I don't use wireless.
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2007, 01:10:40 pm »

I agree. Never had a network config problem, not even wireless on 3 different chipsets, which is why I have been reading those threads and don't have a clue as to what can be going on.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2007, 01:32:46 pm »

The "problem" about the wireless settings disappearing after a reboot can be fixed by adding the commands to /etc/rc.d/rc.local, as has been explained in many threads. I guess its time to update the Howto with that info...
Logged

lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2007, 01:59:40 pm »

The "problem" about the wireless settings disappearing after a reboot can be fixed by adding the commands to /etc/rc.d/rc.local, as has been explained in many threads.

Any way to automate that in the future for newbs?

Re non-wireless internet connection probs on reboot: I actually wonder whether a lot of the VL newbies may be doing the network config part of the install incorrectly - such as choosing something other than DHCP (95% of workstation Internet users would use DHCP). Maybe that screen needs a bit more explanatory text  - I don't know - just an idea....
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2007, 04:48:22 pm »

I also have installed SOHO and standard many times.

In every instance my network settings stay. There does not
appear to be any link between the users cards since the appear
to be different makes and models.

Bigpaws
Logged
blurymind
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1082



« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2007, 09:12:06 am »

its quite annoying.
VL is switching the network cards at each reboot. This shouldnt happen and its pesky. Find a way to get rid of this bug in the next release (not that i tried soho yet,i go to work now and no time im afraid) Cry

Logged

status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2007, 12:26:03 pm »

It's not a bug, it's by design (udev's). You might say it's an RFE that VL generates this file automatically on first boot or something:
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=979.0

It would need to handle changes to the network interfaces though.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!