VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: guarddog problem  (Read 1881 times)

Luri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
guarddog problem
« on: August 15, 2007, 11:35:25 pm »

I use guarddog to configure my firewall settings. It works -until I reboot. Then all settings are gone. Why is that? I've been using guarddog on other distros, and this has never been a problem before.
Logged

Luri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: guarddog problem
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2007, 08:42:02 am »

Allrighty then, I did some research. It seems like Guarddog makes a script /etc/rc.firewall. However the right directory for this script in Slackware (and vector, I guess) would be /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall. I then found a solution by googling a bit:  ln -s /etc/rc.firewall /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall. Apparently the script created by Guarddog should now be run at start up. But no. No way. Settings still reset by reboot. Any solution? I'm going insane here, folks!
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: guarddog problem
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2007, 09:21:20 am »

What VL version are you using?
Logged

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: guarddog problem
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2007, 09:55:36 am »

Last time I looked, the VL firewall script would check for several known scripts from apps like guarddog and run them if present. However, I have had better luck disabling all the VL scripts and adding a call to the guarddog script at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local (easiest, but needs the network interface to be activated during boot), or in the networking scripts (a bit more complicated).
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

Luri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: guarddog problem
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2007, 10:12:24 am »

Nightflier, I'm running the very latest version, rc1. However, I've also tried the latest official version, same thing there.
I'm wondering, since no one seems to be having these issues, could it have something to do with VL not recognizing my netcard? When installing VL I get the message that it's not recognized - but I can still connect to the internet.
Logged

Luri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: guarddog problem
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2007, 10:15:21 am »

Joe, you're getting a bit too tecnical for me there. I'm a noob, and all I do is googling for possible solutions. :-)
Logged

Andy Price

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 237
Re: guarddog problem
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2007, 08:35:14 pm »

Have you disabled VL's built-in firewall? Despite what VASM and the HOWTO say, I found that I needed to keep the built-in firewall running for Guarddog to work properly (I'm using 5.8 Gold).
Logged

Luri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: guarddog problem
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2007, 10:43:40 pm »

Have you disabled VL's built-in firewall? Despite what VASM and the HOWTO say, I found that I needed to keep the built-in firewall running for Guarddog to work properly (I'm using 5.8 Gold).

I've tried disabling, I've tried reenabling, I've tried...everything. No luck. At reboot, the Guarddog-made settings are all gone.
Logged