VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 12:13:07 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: guarddog problem  (Read 1734 times)
Luri
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: August 15, 2007, 10:35:25 pm »

I use guarddog to configure my firewall settings. It works -until I reboot. Then all settings are gone. Why is that? I've been using guarddog on other distros, and this has never been a problem before.
Logged
Luri
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2007, 07:42:02 am »

Allrighty then, I did some research. It seems like Guarddog makes a script /etc/rc.firewall. However the right directory for this script in Slackware (and vector, I guess) would be /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall. I then found a solution by googling a bit:  ln -s /etc/rc.firewall /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall. Apparently the script created by Guarddog should now be run at start up. But no. No way. Settings still reset by reboot. Any solution? I'm going insane here, folks!
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2007, 08:21:20 am »

What VL version are you using?
Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2007, 08:55:36 am »

Last time I looked, the VL firewall script would check for several known scripts from apps like guarddog and run them if present. However, I have had better luck disabling all the VL scripts and adding a call to the guarddog script at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local (easiest, but needs the network interface to be activated during boot), or in the networking scripts (a bit more complicated).
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Luri
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2007, 09:12:24 am »

Nightflier, I'm running the very latest version, rc1. However, I've also tried the latest official version, same thing there.
I'm wondering, since no one seems to be having these issues, could it have something to do with VL not recognizing my netcard? When installing VL I get the message that it's not recognized - but I can still connect to the internet.
Logged
Luri
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2007, 09:15:21 am »

Joe, you're getting a bit too tecnical for me there. I'm a noob, and all I do is googling for possible solutions. :-)
Logged
Andy Price
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 237


« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2007, 07:35:14 pm »

Have you disabled VL's built-in firewall? Despite what VASM and the HOWTO say, I found that I needed to keep the built-in firewall running for Guarddog to work properly (I'm using 5.8 Gold).
Logged
Luri
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2007, 09:43:40 pm »

Have you disabled VL's built-in firewall? Despite what VASM and the HOWTO say, I found that I needed to keep the built-in firewall running for Guarddog to work properly (I'm using 5.8 Gold).

I've tried disabling, I've tried reenabling, I've tried...everything. No luck. At reboot, the Guarddog-made settings are all gone.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!