VectorLinux
April 16, 2014, 05:38:58 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multimedia Bonus Disc development  (Read 40554 times)
Dweeberkitty
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 836



WWW
« Reply #135 on: December 29, 2007, 03:17:45 pm »

Did you install the entire disc or did you chose Expert Install? Knowing that would be helpful. Mine says it's using portaudio v19. Try making sure that that package is installed.
Logged

Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #136 on: December 29, 2007, 09:29:55 pm »

Did you install the entire disc or did you chose Expert Install? Knowing that would be helpful. Mine says it's using portaudio v19. Try making sure that that package is installed.

I Installed the complete disc.
will try the Portaudio
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #137 on: December 29, 2007, 09:36:07 pm »

Did you install the entire disc or did you chose Expert Install? Knowing that would be helpful. Mine says it's using portaudio v19. Try making sure that that package is installed.

portaudio is installed but none of the device choices either play or record works.
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #138 on: December 31, 2007, 05:06:49 am »

Did you install the entire disc or did you chose Expert Install? Knowing that would be helpful. Mine says it's using portaudio v19. Try making sure that that package is installed.

portaudio is installed but none of the device choices either play or record works.


Perhaps the problem is that I'm Using an Intel sound card instead of Creative Labs.  But this sound card has worked in the past with Audacity on other Distrobutions , So there must be something I can do to make it work in VL 5.9 Also.  Just haven't found it yet.. Anyone got it working with and Intel Sound system?
Happy New Year to all Vler's
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
Dweeberkitty
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 836



WWW
« Reply #139 on: December 31, 2007, 12:03:33 pm »

Yep, it's working for me on an intel. I found that if I change the Edit->Preferences->Audio I/O and tell it to use alsa:surround51, I get the same error as you. However, switching back to default works fine. Also you may want to check the project samplerate (In the lower left hand corner) and see if that has anything to do with it. Let me know!
Logged

Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #140 on: December 31, 2007, 12:44:25 pm »

Yep, it's working for me on an intel. I found that if I change the Edit->Preferences->Audio I/O and tell it to use alsa:surround51, I get the same error as you. However, switching back to default works fine. Also you may want to check the project samplerate (In the lower left hand corner) and see if that has anything to do with it. Let me know!

Hi Dweeberkitty,

Here are the Options that Edit>Preferences>I/O give me
Record  OSS: /dev/dsp
              ALSA: Intel 82801AA-ICH: Intel 82801AA-ICH (HW: 0,0)
              ALSA: Intel 82801AA-ICH: Intel 82801AA-ICH - MIC ADC (HW: 0,1)
              ALSA: spdif
              ALSA: default
              JACK: Audio Connection Kit: Alsa_pcm
I have tried them all and none work
Have also tried every project rate and it make no difference.

don't know what else to try

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #141 on: December 31, 2007, 12:53:43 pm »

kc1di,
can you try this kernel: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/kernels/kernel-2.6.22.15ck2-i586-1vl59.tlz
and modules: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.9/kernels/kernel-modules-2.6.22.15ck2-i586-1vl59.tlz
maybe the in kernel alsa drivers will work better for your soundcard
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #142 on: December 31, 2007, 01:02:23 pm »

Will try it see what happens.
stand by
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #143 on: December 31, 2007, 01:09:44 pm »


Did not seem to make any difference.
Thanks for trying
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
Dweeberkitty
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 836



WWW
« Reply #144 on: December 31, 2007, 04:54:18 pm »

That is the strangest thing. It works great for me. Try installing the latest RC1. I think I rebuilt Audacity to use wxGTK-2.8.7. Give it a try. Beyond that, the only thing I can think of is maybe it's a bug in Audacity. This is a development version after all.
Logged

Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #145 on: January 04, 2008, 07:05:13 am »

That is the strangest thing. It works great for me. Try installing the latest RC1. I think I rebuilt Audacity to use wxGTK-2.8.7. Give it a try. Beyond that, the only thing I can think of is maybe it's a bug in Audacity. This is a development version after all.

I Tried install the RC1 Disc still doesn't work I don't know either all I know is Audacity works great in Debian on the same machine so it ought to fixable just can't find it yet.
HNY
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #146 on: January 15, 2008, 05:43:21 am »

Fond this by chance:

http://www.atunes.org/?page_id=5

Havent ever tried Atunes before, but at a first glance it looks like Amarok on steroids
Logged

The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1545


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #147 on: January 15, 2008, 06:47:27 am »

A new jack has been released yesterday : http://jackaudio.org/node/17

It seems like a lot has changed.

I have not tested it yet, so I have no idea if programs compiled against jack 0.103 will work with jack 0.109. Since the change is only a minor number, I guess it should be backwards compatible. 
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2265


« Reply #148 on: January 17, 2008, 09:34:36 am »

Another DAW for Linux

http://traverso-daw.org/

Looks easy to do:
http://traverso-daw.org/requirements.html
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #149 on: January 29, 2008, 04:08:56 am »

Thank you will give it a try. I specifically need Mp3 encoding.
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!