Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??  (Read 3664 times)

nj_jak

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Has anyone tried to get data from a PDA/WM ??

 ???

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2007, 03:53:47 am »
You aren't going to "sync" your device with Linux in the same manner you would with Active Sync on Windows. However, you should be able to get Linux to recognize the device so you can sideload files from the device to your desktop.

Found this during a quick search. :)

http://www.synce.org/index.php/Connecting_your_Windows_Mobile_2005_device_via_USB_(usb-rndis-lite)
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nj_jak

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2007, 07:29:13 am »
Thanx!
I'll have a look at it tonight

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2007, 11:01:59 am »
An idea that I've been considering but not yet tried is using ActiveSync through VirtualBox (or VMware). Has anyone tried this?
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2007, 04:53:48 pm »
Well, I tried it this weekend. I upgraded to VirtualBox 1.5.0, then reinstalled WinXP in a VM, then ActiveSync 4.1 (don't like 4.2 and above). Everything worked (iPAQ detected and a partnership created) until I tried to sync and the little green icon of AS just spins but doesn't sync anything. Oh well...
« Last Edit: September 03, 2007, 04:56:36 pm by mikecindi »
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2007, 02:24:43 am »
You may need to upgrade Active Sync. The earlier versions do have issues at times with WM5 devices.
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2007, 04:04:11 am »
True, but my iPAQ is PPC2003 and works well with AS as far back as 3.x. It would seem my problem is in the transfer of information within a virtual machine.
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143

rhauff

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2007, 10:47:34 am »
I can't help for WM 5.0, but I have successfully sync'ed WM 2003 SE using AS 3.8 and Windows 98 in a VMware Server session.  Unfortunately no USB 2.0 yet, so backups are slow.  I had a beta of VMware Workstation for a while that had USB 2.0 which worked nicely also.

I have tried SynCE a couple time.  It is kinda tricky to set up, but I was able to view the files on the PocketPC.  It's MUCH easier to just use a card reader to shuffle files though.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2007, 10:52:11 am by rhauff »

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1073
Re: Can you syncronize VL 5.8 SOHO with PDA running Window$ Mobile 5.0??
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2007, 05:14:26 pm »
I thought about using AS 3.8. I always liked it as it allowed connection through my lan.
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143