VectorLinux
November 23, 2014, 03:54:52 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [ SOLVED ] Printer/scanner help please.  (Read 366 times)
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 729



« on: November 07, 2014, 10:56:12 am »

I am using Vector Linux 7.0, and I recently purchased a HP Deskjet 1512 printer/scanner combo, I have been able to get the printer part working (via cups), but how do I get the scanner part working?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 07:28:46 pm by Locator » Logged
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 541


move the needle


« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2014, 05:09:02 pm »

'hp deskjet 1512 sane'

Short version: This one needs hpllip of at least 3.13.8 and the latest in 7.0's repo is 3.11.x.
7.1 has 3.14.x already.

You can try requesting a new hplip package for 7.0. No idea how buildable that would be at this point.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.3, icewmvmods
wigums
Packager
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 139



« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2014, 09:06:14 am »

hplip for both 7.0 and 7.1 has been upgrade to 3.14.10
they can be found in the respective untested repos

7.0
http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.0/x86/
http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.0/x86_64/

7.1
http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.1/x86/
http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.1/x86_64/

as usual please disable untested repos once you've installed the packages
Logged

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 729



« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2014, 03:52:14 pm »

Thanks, but unfortunately I have encountered another problem in that when I tried to activate the printer earlier (using CUPS), I encountered a problem as shown in the two attachments. The first shows the window that came up, and the second shows what happened when I pressed the "Connect" button. So how do I go about activating CUPS in the first place?
Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 729



« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2014, 04:57:43 pm »

Well, I DID figure out how to manually activate cups (via the Internet), unfortunately, however, it gets deactivated whenever I log out, so how do I fix it so that I don't have to manually reactivate it every time I start Linux?
Logged
wigums
Packager
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 139



« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2014, 05:18:58 am »

point browser to
http://localhost:631/

default bahavior in 7.1 is that cups should be started automagically through
Code:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/cups

could someone verify if this is also true for 7.0
if not than this should start it at boot
Code:
chmod +x /etc/rc.d/rc.cups

« Last Edit: November 09, 2014, 05:36:57 am by wigums » Logged

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 729



« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2014, 10:19:56 am »

Into which file do I put the code in question?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2014, 10:40:37 am by Locator » Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 729



« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2014, 08:37:20 am »

I hesitate to say this, but as of right now CUPS seems to have stopped working on my system completely, because when I try to print a test page, the following window pops up:
Logged
wigums
Packager
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 139



« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2014, 09:40:22 am »

silly question but is CUPS running? in your browser go to

localhost:631

and you should get a page of CUPS settings.
if it is not running issue this command as root
Code:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/cups start

you may have to check mime types too in
Code:
/usr/share/cups/mime/mime.types

cups has a nifty html page, try putting this in your browser and do abit of reading

/usr/doc/cups-1.4.6/help/man-mime.types.html

to start cups during boot put this at the bottom of
Code:
/etc/rc.d/rc.local

Code:
CUPS.
if [ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.cups ]; then
# Start CUPS:
/etc/rc.d/rc.cups start
elif [ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.lprng ]; then
# Start LPRng (lpd):
. /etc/rc.d/rc.lprng start
fi
« Last Edit: November 13, 2014, 10:32:03 am by wigums » Logged

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 729



« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2014, 11:25:02 am »

I just tried those links you mentioned, and in each case all the browser would display was the message "NOT FOUND" in big, bold letters, and yet I can get to everything else on the internet without any problem. But for what it's worth, the code you suggested DOES start CUPS on my computer.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2014, 11:46:54 am by Locator » Logged
wigums
Packager
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 139



« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2014, 11:45:13 am »

is CUPS running? doesnt look like it so as root do this

Code:
/etc/rc.d/init.d/cups start
Logged

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 729



« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2014, 11:51:50 am »

I tried that, got the same response, and now CUPS doesn't see my printer, even though it is connected and turned on.
Logged
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 729



« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2014, 07:34:14 pm »

Well, I FINALLY got everything functioning correctly. It turns out that the graphics card that I was trying to use (GeForce 7600) wouldn't "mesh" (so to speak) with the default installation procedure of the operating system, so I just switched to a GeForce 210 graphics card.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!