Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Help needed installing Tellico in VL 5.1  (Read 2133 times)

Sperrit

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Help needed installing Tellico in VL 5.1
« on: September 01, 2007, 02:17:34 pm »
Hi all,

I've recently installed VL 5.1 in an old laptop (Celeron 600Mh, 64Mb), and I'm quite glad I can "normally" use a machine otherwise I couldn't use. Installation was ok, configuration was not so complicated, but I'm getting trouble to install Tellico 1.2.13, a newer version than the one in repositories.

I've got the package from here (http://www.slacky.eu/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2548&Itemid=56), I use pkgtool to install it, and everything seems to go ok. But when I try to run it in XFCE, nothing happens. And when I try to run it from console, it gives me an error about libyaz.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.

I've also tried to compile if manually from sources, configure's ok, but when doing "make", I get an error related to openoffice...

I'd need a newer version of this software to keep on working with my old "new" laptot.

Any ideas?

Thanks ;)

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: Help needed installing Tellico in VL 5.1
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2007, 05:03:37 pm »
We have yaz packages in the repo. Probably not the latest, but I don't think that's a big issue.
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

Sperrit

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Help needed installing Tellico in VL 5.1
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2007, 12:15:49 am »
I have yaz 2.1.16 already installed in my machine  :-[

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Help needed installing Tellico in VL 5.1
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2007, 05:35:17 am »
your error was for "libyaz.so.3:" so you probably need a newer yaz like the one i pointed to.
You could try symlinking libyaz.so.3 to your older libyaz.so.2 and see if it works that way

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: Help needed installing Tellico in VL 5.1
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2007, 11:04:20 am »
Ah, I see you got a package from slacky, they tend to be a bit too bleeding edge with their lib deps. According to the Tellico site, it is now compatible with yaz 2 and 3, but it would depend on the version you build it with. I guess you need to build yaz3 (should be easy, if building yaz2 is any indication), or buid tellico with yaz2 (probably a lot harder). You could try the symlink uel mentioned first.
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10