VectorLinux
July 25, 2014, 07:34:13 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: problematic install on old system  (Read 2952 times)
Xheralt

« on: August 09, 2007, 11:11:44 pm »

I'm fairly new to Linux. but of technical enough inclination to handle things pretty well.  I've done a fair amount of distro-hopping, and Vector has emerged as a favorite "welterweight" Linux, something to try on machines with 64MB or so of RAM.  Even if having to manually partition the hd's before installing is a pain.  I sometimes use partitioning tools from other LiveCD's to prep a Vector install.

Anyway, I'm attempting to revitalize an old machine, a Gateway 2000 P-I with 64MB of RAM and I'm being confounded at every turn.  I've gotten Vector to run on a P-II with 64MB RAM, so this ought to be doable...

1.  The machine will not boot from CDROM, only floppy or HD.  No USB at all.  It has valid Win98 and WinNT-workstation installs currently, over 4GB on two drives split into 5 MSDOS partitions (4 FAT, 1 NTFS).  I'm not looking to keep any of the Windows installs, I may keep the 480MB NTFS partition as such.
2.  The process outlined in the README in %cdrom%/boot/dos isn't working.
   a.  Booting the system from it's HD in MSDOS mode causes it to lose it's CDROM drive(s).   No MSDOS drivers for MSCDEX.EXE!