VectorLinux
April 19, 2014, 07:10:10 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: kdm and VL 6.0  (Read 4282 times)
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« on: September 13, 2007, 03:47:53 pm »

I would like to see VL 5.9 (next build) and 6.0 use a version of KDM that allows selection of language on a session-by-session basis at login.  Many other distros offer this and I find it incredibly useful.  I'm sure other multilingual people do as well.

Any chance?
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2007, 04:20:48 pm »

Might not be able to name it kdm-small anymore.
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2007, 04:31:00 pm »

I am basically suggesting moving to the full version of KDM.  The difference in boot time is not terribly significant and the increase in functionality is.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1545


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2007, 04:45:58 pm »

AFAIK there is no such thing as a full KDM. Basically, the kdm-small package is a stripped version kde-base.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2007, 04:53:46 pm »

AFAIK there is no such thing as a full KDM. Basically, the kdm-small package is a stripped version kde-base.

I think we're talking semantics here.  OK, I'll rephrase.  I'd like the multilingual support left in and not stripped out.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
Vxt
Member
*
Posts: 86


« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2007, 03:55:02 pm »

Whereas - some VL users prefer small yet functional
Creeping expanionism ?

That has led to  many complaining  about & have vilified in many distributions as 'bloat"
OR >  'More half-baked_home_garage_clones with no  new ideas'

Then in next breath,  demand more features "they" proclaim to be
Essential for 'All'  to Use

For that matter,  why have extraneous GUI logon desktop managers -

 > Create own .xinitrc file !
 It's one thing to customise to own desires _

Entirely another  matter to promulgate same as any "need'

Joe said it well -
Quote
I just refuse to force my preferences on others.
?
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1545


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2007, 11:10:48 pm »

I forgot all about this thread...

AFAIK there is no such thing as a full KDM. Basically, the kdm-small package is a stripped version kde-base.

I think we're talking semantics here.  OK, I'll rephrase.  I'd like the multilingual support left in and not stripped out.
KDM was probably compiled with multilingual support. However, there are no kde-i18n packages (which contain the translations) on 5.8 std. I can't try this, but I reckon if you install the right kde-i18n package and edit some config file (no idea which) you'll be able to get it going.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2839



WWW
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2007, 10:51:57 am »

Nope, the language menu would still be missing in our lite version.  i18n files do not need to be installed to enable the language menu.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VLocity Linux 7.0-rc1

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video
VL 7.0 Light
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!