VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: tkpppoe  (Read 1283 times)

varaahan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
tkpppoe
« on: September 20, 2007, 06:51:20 am »

Anybody using tkpppoe ?
It's not in gslapt.
I tried to install it from tar ball but it doen't work at all.
Although tkpppoe is installed , I could not connect to internet using it.
The s/w returns time-out error after some time.
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: tkpppoe
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2007, 09:11:12 am »

Please be more specific and provide more information so we can help you. By "It doesn't work at all" do  you mean you could not launch the program. What error message do you get? Do you at least get the TkPPPOE GUI on screen?

Launch "tkpppoe" as root in a terminal and tell us what error messages you get.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: tkpppoe
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2007, 09:21:40 am »

I don't know if this helps at all but the VL repos should have the rp-pppoe package, but perhaps you require the funtionality of tkpppoe.
Logged

varaahan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
Re: tkpppoe
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2007, 05:05:23 pm »

Please be more specific and provide more information so we can help you. By "It doesn't work at all" do  you mean you could not launch the program. What error message do you get? Do you at least get the TkPPPOE GUI on screen?

Launch "tkpppoe" as root in a terminal and tell us what error messages you get.

tkpppoe was installed and I could get the GUI screen and clicked the start button.
After a while got the error msg :"connection timed out"
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: tkpppoe
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2007, 06:31:40 pm »

The only thing I can suggest is to try turning off the VL Firewall using VASM and then to double check all your pppoe connection data that you entered into the entry boxes within TkPPPOE is exactly what is required by your ISP.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll