VectorLinux
December 19, 2014, 06:38:25 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: problem installing pdfedit (SOLVED)  (Read 1966 times)
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1430



« on: September 22, 2007, 04:59:46 pm »

Hi Folks,

Has anyone got pdfedit up and running on Vector 5.8?  Flpsed is OK for filling out pdf forms, but I use pdfedit to do much of anything else to a pdf. I downloaded the tar.gz version of pdfedit-0.3.2 from Sourceforge.  Loaded boost from xslapt and ./configure ran fine.  But it would not make.

The pdfedit readme says
Quote
Make sure you have all needed libraries (qt3, boost and xlib) along with their
headers.
You also need the environment variable QTDIR to be set to directory in which
the Qt toolkit (version 3) is installed. Many distributions already set this
when installing Qt, but some of them don't. In that case, you have to set the
QTDIR manually. Usually it is set to something like /usr/qt/3 or /usr/share/qt3
(use e. g. export QTDIR=/usr/share/qt3 to set the variable if this is your
case). 

I couldn't LOCATE QTDIR so that may be the problem.

I'm gonna end up with too much on this little machine if I'm not careful.

John

« Last Edit: September 24, 2007, 08:59:39 pm by lawquest » Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2007, 05:33:26 pm »

I couldn't LOCATE QTDIR so that may be the problem.
That's an environment variable, not a file. Try "echo $QTDIR" (without the quotes). AFAIR, it is set correctly in VL by default.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1430



« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2007, 06:55:50 pm »

Thanks.  Still won't make.

I wonder if the following, also in the readme for pdfedit gives a clue?

Quote
Also, while usually not needed, QMAKESPEC may be set to match your system type.
For most systems it is unnecessary to set it, alhough it may be needed if you
crosscompile (like producing i386 binaries on amd64 platform) or in some rare
configurations. Once you set QTDIR, you may try typing "ls $QTDIR/mkspecs".
QMAKESPEC should be set to name of one of the directories that are in mkspecs
subdirectory in the Qt directory.
See http://www.digitalfanatics.org/projects/qt_tutorial/chapter04.html or
http://doc.trolltech.com/3.0/qmake-guide.html for more information.

I looked at the referenced urls, but am a little reluctant to fool with qmake as, like QTDIR, its probably already set properly, I.E. echo $QTDIR produces "/usr/lib/qt" 

ls $QTDIR/mkspecs produces
Quote
aix-g++        hpux-acc-64   linux-ecc-64   netbsd-g++      unixware-cc
aix-g++-64     hpux-acc-o64  linux-g++      openbsd-g++     unixware-g++
aix-xlc        hpux-cc       linux-g++-32   qnx-g++         win32-borland
aix-xlc-64     hpux-g++      linux-g++-64   reliant-cds     win32-g++
bsdi-g++       hpux-g++-64   linux-icc      reliant-cds-64  win32-icc
cygwin-g++     hpuxi-acc-32  linux-kcc      sco-cc          win32-msvc
darwin-g++     hpuxi-acc-64  linux-kylix    sco-g++         win32-msvc.net
default        hurd-g++      linux-pgcc     solaris-cc      win32-msvc2005
dgux-g++       irix-cc       lynxos-g++     solaris-cc-64   win32-watcom
freebsd-g++    irix-cc-64    macx-g++       solaris-g++
freebsd-g++34  irix-cc-o32   macx-mwerks    solaris-g++-64
freebsd-icc    irix-g++      macx-pbuilder  tru64-cxx
hpux-acc       linux-cxx     macx-xlc       tru64-g++

I am not installing in root and that could be a problem.  On my fedora machine I had to start pdfedit in root before I could import a file, a bother.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2007, 07:02:01 pm »

Thanks.  Still won't make.
Of course not... Grin
Sorry, I should have made it clearer that I couldn't help with the main issue, just trying to explain this specific point.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1430



« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2007, 11:40:45 pm »

I tried pdfedit-0.3.1 just to see and it would not configure.

So I typed in

export QMAKESPEC=$QTDIR/mkspecs/linux-g++

and it configured, but still would not make.

I am going to bed. I can get by without pdfedit for a few weeks and will look into it as time permits.

Thanks for the help.  As you suspected, rather basic linux concepts escape me all too often and any help is therefore appreciated--even if I don't know what to do with it.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2007, 01:50:36 pm »

slacky.eu has v0.3.1 available as a slack v11.0 package which may work fine on vl58; might be worth a shot.  If it works then at least you could use v0.3.1 until you figure out the compiling of v0.3.2.

HTH

almost forgot:
http://www.slacky.eu/repository/slackware-11.0/office/pdfedit/0.3.1/
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1430



« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2007, 08:58:43 pm »

Bless you, Newtor.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!