VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Mounting a SanDisk 2GB SD card  (Read 1694 times)

solex

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Mounting a SanDisk 2GB SD card
« on: September 23, 2007, 11:16:18 am »

Hi,
I have had trouble mounting an SD card mentioned in the subject line (both and SD card and a microSD with a Trans Flash adapter).

If I issue this command: mount -t vfat -o loop /dev/sdd1 /mnt/memory.  The card mounts but issuing an ls shown directories but in strange characters.

If I issue mount -t usbfs -o loop /dev/sdd1 /mnt/memory and then do an ls I get the following directories: 001, 002, 003 and an empty file called devices.

Any idea how I can get this to work, I had to resolve to using my windows box which I'm trying to get rid of?

Thank you,
Dan
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Mounting a SanDisk 2GB SD card
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2007, 11:20:21 am »

did you try  mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/memory ?
Logged

solex

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Mounting a SanDisk 2GB SD card
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2007, 11:25:11 am »

I did not but just tried it and got this error:

mount: /dev/sdd1: can't read superblock

one other thing, I did a CFDISK and it shows the File system time as FAT16.

thanks,
Dan
« Last Edit: September 23, 2007, 11:36:50 am by solex »
Logged

stoichyu

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
Re: Mounting a SanDisk 2GB SD card
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2007, 09:54:35 am »

You can try mounting it as "-t msdos" that's for fat16, I think. vfat is for fat32 drives.
Logged
There's no place like ~.
VL 5.8 PentiumD 2.8Ghz Registered Linux User #432836

solex

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
Re: Mounting a SanDisk 2GB SD card
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2007, 08:48:03 pm »

I believe I found the problem.  The card reader is a bit old and it appears cannot handle cards of 1GB.  I will be getting a newer reader and post back.

Thanks,
Dan
Logged