VectorLinux
September 14, 2014, 05:43:09 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mounting a SanDisk 2GB SD card  (Read 1415 times)
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« on: September 23, 2007, 10:16:18 am »

Hi,
I have had trouble mounting an SD card mentioned in the subject line (both and SD card and a microSD with a Trans Flash adapter).

If I issue this command: mount -t vfat -o loop /dev/sdd1 /mnt/memory.  The card mounts but issuing an ls shown directories but in strange characters.

If I issue mount -t usbfs -o loop /dev/sdd1 /mnt/memory and then do an ls I get the following directories: 001, 002, 003 and an empty file called devices.

Any idea how I can get this to work, I had to resolve to using my windows box which I'm trying to get rid of?

Thank you,
Dan
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2007, 10:20:21 am »

did you try  mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/memory ?
Logged
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2007, 10:25:11 am »

I did not but just tried it and got this error:

mount: /dev/sdd1: can't read superblock

one other thing, I did a CFDISK and it shows the File system time as FAT16.

thanks,
Dan
« Last Edit: September 23, 2007, 10:36:50 am by solex » Logged
stoichyu
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 369



« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2007, 08:54:35 am »

You can try mounting it as "-t msdos" that's for fat16, I think. vfat is for fat32 drives.
Logged

There's no place like ~.
VL 5.8 PentiumD 2.8Ghz Registered Linux User #432836
solex
Member
*
Posts: 67


« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2007, 07:48:03 pm »

I believe I found the problem.  The card reader is a bit old and it appears cannot handle cards of 1GB.  I will be getting a newer reader and post back.

Thanks,
Dan
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!