VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 08:08:09 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Dual sound cards - how to make the system ignore one of them  (Read 1553 times)
Cohan
Member
*
Posts: 4


« on: September 26, 2007, 11:55:23 am »

I have two sound cards on my laptop, one built-in (which can not (!) be disabled in BIOS) and one USB to replace the faulty one. Both are detected (however, alsaconf only detects the built-in...) and I have mixer settings for both of them.
Problem: the system defaults to the built in sound card. How can I make the system never load the built in card (best option) or make the USB card the default (alternate option)?

Alsaconf detects the builtin as Maestro3
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2007, 12:14:50 pm »

you could add "maestro3" to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist. That way the module for that card shouldn't be loaded, and the other should become the first (and only) audio card that's being used.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
florut
Member
*
Posts: 34



WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2007, 04:44:16 am »

Hi !

I have the same problem.
Previously on Ubuntu, I used to set up my external card named "audio" with this command:
Code:
asoundconf set-default-card Audio
On VL 5.9 RC2, the terminal replies to this command : "bash: asoundconf: command not found"

Another trick was to set priorities in this file : /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base, but there is no file like that in this directory ! Where are the alsa modules set up ?

At last, how could I restart alsa on VL ? Here is what I do :
Quote
root:# /etc/init.d/alsa restart
bash: /etc/init.d/alsa: No such file or directory

Thanks for help !

Logged

Proudly running VL 5.9 DLX GOLD 2.6.22.14 + KDE 3.8
...on my ASUS laptop with Pentium-M @1.8Ghz + ATI Mobility X700 + Intel Wireless 2200BG
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2007, 06:19:31 am »

Hi !

I have the same problem.
Previously on Ubuntu, I used to set up my external card named "audio" with this command:
Code:
asoundconf set-default-card Audio
A soundcard named audio? that has got to be one of the worst names ever. As for asoundconf: it's probably one of them ubuntu/debian specific commands.
Quote
Another trick was to set priorities in this file : /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base, but there is no file like that in this directory ! Where are the alsa modules set up ?

At last, how could I restart alsa on VL ? Here is what I do :
Code:
root:# /etc/init.d/alsa restart
bash: /etc/init.d/alsa: No such file or directory
try this instead:
Code:
/etc/rc.d/rc.alsa restart

can't find more useful stuff than that now, sorry.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
florut
Member
*
Posts: 34



WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2007, 06:58:14 am »

Thanks very much Headacher for fast and reliable answer !

Quote
can't find more useful stuff than that now, sorry.
I finally managed to blacklist the module I was using the wrong name  Roll Eyes  Tongue

Quote
for asoundconf: it's probably one of them ubuntu/debian specific commands.
try this instead:
/etc/rc.d/rc.alsa restart
OK thanks for the tips !

Quote
A soundcard named audio? that has got to be one of the worst names ever.
Actually I (try to) use a stupid external USB 5.1 soundcard for which the constructor does not support linux drivers (Hercules Gamesurround MusePocket USB LT).
It is recognized since Kernel 2.6.20 and works in stereo mode.

If someone knows how to activate and emulate 5.1 channels with this card please tell !!
I found that : http://www.spinics.net/lists/alsa-devel/msg00303.html but have no idea how to "fix a mixer map"  Huh
Logged

Proudly running VL 5.9 DLX GOLD 2.6.22.14 + KDE 3.8
...on my ASUS laptop with Pentium-M @1.8Ghz + ATI Mobility X700 + Intel Wireless 2200BG
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!