VectorLinux
April 22, 2014, 11:01:31 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: disable firewall on startup [SOLVED]  (Read 2556 times)
poseidon
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: October 01, 2007, 05:16:51 am »

Hi everybody.

I'm using VL Standard Gold 5.8 and want to disable the firewall on startup.

This is what i tried (as root):

in VASM:
NETWORK -> FIREWALL -> STOP
and
NETWORK -> FIREWALL -> DISABLE

Firewall stops but comes again on reboot

I also checked

SERVICE -> SRVSET

if the firewall service is disabled in Runlevel 4, and it is disabled.

If there's no other way to stop the firewall from starting, i would also be happy if someone could tell me where i could put the line

Code:
service firewall stop

so that it would be executed on system start. I'm new to Linux and therefore a bit afraid of messing aroung with startup files..

thnx for any solutions!

poseidon

Ps: I'm glad i found VL, tried a few distros for my old celeron and VL is (by far) the best and most stable one!
« Last Edit: October 01, 2007, 07:50:51 am by poseidon » Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2007, 06:33:52 am »

... i would also be happy if someone could tell me where i could put the line
Code:
service firewall stop
so that it would be executed on system start.
At the bottom of your /etc/rc.d/rc.local file
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1545


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2007, 06:36:58 am »

If there's no other way to stop the firewall from starting, i would also be happy if someone could tell me where i could put the line

Code:
service firewall stop

so that it would be executed on system start. I'm new to Linux and therefore a bit afraid of messing aroung with startup files..
I'm not sure what would be the "recommended" way to prevent the firewall from starting, but you could add that code to /etc/rc.d/rc.local .
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
poseidon
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2007, 07:15:32 am »

thnx, works perfectly. might not be the best solution (starting and stopping again...) but who cares.

by the way - how do i change the timeout in the lilo boot loader? i changed lilo.conf:
Code:
timeout = 1200
(which is 2 mins) to
Code:
timeout = 300
which should be 30 secs IMHO. But the countdown still starts at 2:00.

any ideas?

poseidon
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1545


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2007, 07:42:09 am »

After making a change to lilo.conf, you have to run "lilo" so the changes in the config file are written to the MBR.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
poseidon
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2007, 07:49:09 am »

works perfectly, thnx

poseidon
« Last Edit: October 06, 2007, 12:54:34 am by poseidon » Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2007, 06:30:41 pm »

What I do to disable the firewall, in addition to making the changes in VASM, is make /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall and /etc/rc.d/init.d/firewall unexecutable. I do it with Midnight Commander (highlight the file, hit Control-c and remove checkmarks by the three "execute" options, hit Set). Seems to work.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!