VectorLinux
October 21, 2014, 10:13:05 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I cant connect to internet through my USB cable modem  (Read 1346 times)
thekkk02
Member
*
Posts: 17


« on: November 03, 2007, 05:51:09 pm »

Hi! I have this problem... I had internet through cable one month ago and I could browse through internet with no problem... but just today I changed Internet Provider and now Vector Linux doesnt recognizes the modem! Windows detects the USB cable modem but Vector Linux doesnt! Why does this happens if VL detected the modem with my old internet provider and now not. I have a Motorola SB5120 Surfboard Cable Modem. I went to Motorola's web page and indeed the modem is compatible with Linux.
I connected it to the USB port because I dont have Network Card, but this is no problem I think because the old modem was connected to the USB port as well.
I hope you can help me out because I do really want to surf internet witl VL!
Thank you!
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2007, 06:20:35 pm »

More information is needed.

What version of VL are you using? Does the modem support
log in for you or do you use another method to login?

The only difference is the ISP? Any upgrades or other changes
to the Vector install. Do you how the previous connection worked?

Bigpaws
Logged
thekkk02
Member
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2007, 06:29:02 pm »

More information is needed.

What version of VL are you using? Does the modem support
log in for you or do you use another method to login?

The only difference is the ISP? Any upgrades or other changes
to the Vector install. Do you how the previous connection worked?

Bigpaws

I use Vector Linux 5.8 SOHO. The modem is not for log in, it automatically connects to tje internet. And yes, the previous connection did work! What can it be?
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2007, 06:39:30 pm »

the website says
Quote
# Ethernet connection compatible with Windows® 95/98SE/2000/NT/Me/XP; Macintosh® OS 8 or higher; Unix®; and Linux®
# USB connection compatible with Windows® 98SE/2000/NT/Me/XP
which I interpret to mean you have to have windows to use this modem with USB.
you may find drivers or another way for it to work in linux, but the easiest way would be to add a NIC to your box.

HTH,
Uelks8s
Logged
thekkk02
Member
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2007, 07:01:25 pm »

the website says
Quote
# Ethernet connection compatible with Windows® 95/98SE/2000/NT/Me/XP; Macintosh® OS 8 or higher; Unix®; and Linux®
# USB connection compatible with Windows® 98SE/2000/NT/Me/XP
which I interpret to mean you have to have windows to use this modem with USB.
you may find drivers or another way for it to work in linux, but the easiest way would be to add a NIC to your box.

HTH,
Uelks8s

Oh youre so right!!! its not compatible with USB... can you help me out with a place where I can download those drivers?? or can anyone tell me where I can find that driver because I just dont seem to find it!
« Last Edit: November 03, 2007, 07:36:36 pm by thekkk02 » Logged
thekkk02
Member
*
Posts: 17


« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2007, 12:45:27 pm »

I solved the problem! thank you! I bought an ethernet card and that solved it all. thank you for everything!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!