VectorLinux
October 22, 2014, 06:09:31 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: /sbin/ip  (Read 6400 times)
malimedo38
Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: October 06, 2007, 01:29:33 am »

there is no this command on my vector?Huh?
I want to do this   < ip link set wifi0 address xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx>

but problem is command not found
thanks
Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2007, 03:36:27 am »

Perhaps you could give some more information on what you're trying to do? looks like you're trying to get your wifi to work. here's a howto on setting up wireless: http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=1282.0 

This "ip" command... I suppose it used to work on Debian or some distro built on it? They've been known to add their own custom commands.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1856


« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2007, 05:20:14 am »

Are you trying to use madwifi?

Here is the right command:

ip link set addr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx dev wifi0

Bigpaws
Logged
malimedo38
Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2007, 08:36:09 pm »

Yes I try  ip link set addr xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx dev wifi0
but there is a error
bash: ip:command not found
I looked in the /sbin/ip and this distro has no command ip.........

I am trying to change Mac address of my wireless adapter.
Ifconfig wifi0 hw ether  not work also

all this command work very vell on other distros
« Last Edit: October 06, 2007, 08:41:42 pm by malimedo38 » Logged
saulgoode
Vectorite
***
Posts: 340



« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2007, 12:50:18 am »

This "ip" command... I suppose it used to work on Debian or some distro built on it? They've been known to add their own custom commands.

/sbin/ip is one of the utilities provided by the IPROUTE2 project. It is included in a standard Slackware install (iproute2 package) and is not specific to any distro.
Logged

A complex system that works is invariably found to have evolved from a simple system that works.
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2007, 04:15:04 am »

Quote
/sbin/ip is one of the utilities provided by the IPROUTE2 project. It is included in a standard Slackware install (iproute2 package) and is not specific to any distro.
Ah, alrighty then, my bad.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!