VectorLinux
September 18, 2014, 09:25:49 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "L 01 01 01..." etc. on boot? Help!  (Read 3948 times)
Sebytheman
Member
*
Posts: 4


« on: October 08, 2007, 10:26:38 am »

I just installed Vector Linux, and so far as I can tell I fit everything to my computer and stuff, but when I try to get it to boot, all I get is a black screen with my pci device listing, and " L 01 01 01 01 01 01 01..." etc. Did I do something wrong or..?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I will gladly send any information needed, but please ask for it in laymen terms, as I am a complete Linux noob...I have never run any Linux at all.

Thanks much.
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2007, 10:39:41 am »

I just installed Vector Linux, and so far as I can tell I fit everything to my computer and stuff, but when I try to get it to boot, all I get is a black screen with my pci device listing, and " L 01 01 01 01 01 01 01..." etc.

That is a Lilo (the Linux loader's) error meaning "invalid disk command". So yes, something is wrong with your install. I suspect either: 1) a faulty hard drive, 2) invalid partitions or 3) you installed VL to one hard drive and then wrote LILO to the MBR of a different hard drive.

Reinsert the VL CD. Get to the second screen and choose the option "Exit - bailout from this setup to the Linux shell". When you get the root "#" prompt, type "fdisk -l" and tell us what it says. Did you get any funny errors or strange things happening when you did the install? Did the install complete properly?
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Sebytheman
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2007, 11:04:08 am »

So far as I can tell, the installation went on without a hitch, yeah...And as for what it says....Here goes..

Disk /dev/hda: 1 heads, 16514064 sectors, 1 cylinders
units = cylinders of 16514064 * 512 bytes

  Device Boot     Start      End     Blocks     Id    System
/dev/hda   *            1         1  8257000+   83   Linux
Partition 1 has different physical/logical beginnings ( non-Linux?):
       phys=(0, 1, 1) logical=(0, 0, 64)
Partition 1 has different physical/logical endings:
       phys=(1023, 15, 63) logical=(0, 0, 16514054)
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary:
       phys=(1023, 15, 63) should be (1023, 0, 16514064)

Disk /dev/hdd: 1 heads, 78165360 sectors, 1 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 78165360 * 512 bytes

  Device Boot     Start      End     Blocks     Id    System
/dev/hdd1   *          1         1  39082648+  5     Extended
Partition 1 has different physical/logical beginnings ( non-Linux?):
       phys=(0, 1, 1) logical=(0, 0, 64)
Partition 1 has different physical/logical endings:
       phys=(1023, 15, 63) logical=(0, 0, 78165360)
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary:
       phys=(1023, 15, 63) should be (1023, 0, 78165360)
/dev/hdd5               1          1  39082617   83   Linux




There. Geez, I hope I didn't miss copy anything important O.O
Logged
Vxt
Member
*
Posts: 86


« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2007, 11:20:28 am »

(Please use "man lilo")

Quote
BOOT ERRORS
       The boot process takes place in two stages.  The
       first stage loader is a single  sector,  and  is
       loaded  by the BIOS or by the loader in the MBR.
       It loads the multi-sector second  stage  loader,
       but is very space limited.  When the first stage
       loader gets control, it types  the  letter  "L";
       when it is ready to transfer control to the sec-
       ond stage loader it types the  letter  "I".   If
       any  error  occurs,  like  a disk read error, it
       will put out a hexadecimil error code, and  then
       it  will  re-try  the  operation.  All hex error
       codes are BIOS return  values,  except  for  the
       lilo-generated 40, 99 and 9A.  A partial list of
       error codes follows:

If the kernel is not located, there are several plausible explanations
I.E. Was the md5sum checked prior to burning the downloaded ISO ?

After verification of drive locations (fdisk -l)
if they are correct, try (use vasm) to re-run the lilo loader install

The lilo install option used  was not stated (MBR. dual boot, floppy etc)
To confirm, /etc/lilo.conf  may read, & if in doubt, be posted
The content of /etc/fstab must match lilo.conf locations   

Larry - Pardon me - but I just must ask:
Why is  the very first "suspected cause" you suggest, inevitably  advised_
it may be "a faulty hard drive" ?


To the best of my knowledge, there have been none ( of numereous incidents where original undetermined 
glitches were found - the hard drive was the culprit.

Alwasy a remote possibility, but one that results in much wasted efforts to
verify - meanwhile, more logical trouble-shooting has been side-tracked.

HTH
 
Logged
Sebytheman
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2007, 11:38:49 am »

When I type " use vasm " it says "use:not found" 
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2007, 11:58:41 am »

just 'vasm' not 'use vasm'; I think vxt meant "...try (using vasm) to re-run..." and vasm is started from command line with simply 'vasm'.  Of course, I think you'll then need to select the 'SUPER' option, enter the root password, and then you'll find access to re-install lilo.

Also, do you happen to remember which lilo install option you used: MBR (master boot record), super-block, floppy?
« Last Edit: October 08, 2007, 12:00:40 pm by newtor » Logged
Sebytheman
Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2007, 12:24:40 pm »

I believe I selected MBR, and when I type in vasm, it says " vasm: not found " O.O
Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #7 on: October 08, 2007, 11:15:34 pm »

OK usually using mbr works, which disk and partition is Vector installed on and which disk's master boot record did you install lilo?
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2007, 09:13:55 am »

... and when I type in vasm, it says " vasm: not found " O.O

lagagnon had you boot to the shell from the CD, however to get vasm working you need to do one extra step.  You need to boot from the CD, however this time you need to have it boot your currently installed system which means you'll be specifying the boot partition (i.e the partition that contains your existing VL system).  This will get you booted from your hard drive and it's currently installed VL system.  You'll then need to login using the user accounts you created during install, and then run 'vasm'.

I wish I knew the exact process of your installed system from CD so I could give you a detailed step-by-step but I don't know it off the top of my head.  If you have troubles with this then I'll give it a shot myself and post the details.

Good luck!
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4023



« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2007, 02:22:04 pm »

To procedure to get to your system from the CD is displayed on the initial screen. It tells you to type:
linux root=/dev/hdxx ro
You will need to change the hdxx to the partition where you installed VL. I think that is what Lagagnon was looking for when he wanted the output of fdisk -l. Try using hdd5 and see what happens.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!