VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: firefox doesn't run  (Read 3744 times)

nulll

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • nulll
firefox doesn't run
« on: October 14, 2007, 12:23:52 pm »

the system crashed while i was running firefox.
now firefox doesn't start anymore.
when i runnit from the console this message is returned:
Quote
line 131:  3329 Segmentation fault      "$prog" ${1+"$@"}
what can i do?
Logged

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: firefox doesn't run
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2007, 04:16:34 pm »

What version of Firefox is it? What VL are you running again?  :)
Logged

nulll

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • nulll
Re: firefox doesn't run
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2007, 03:59:46 am »

firefox 2.0 on VL SOHO 5.8
Logged

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: firefox doesn't run
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2007, 04:58:12 am »

I should of read your first post more clearly.  If you system crashed while running Firefox, then I guess it could be possible your FIrefox is buggered up now.  Have you tried re-installing Firefox?  Or updating to the latest version?
Firefox-2.0.0.7 is in the testing repo now.
Logged

kidd

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 682
Re: firefox doesn't run
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2007, 05:10:43 am »

Trying to open firefox with a new profile could be an option to see if it's a profile issue.

firefox -help for flags and options

nulll

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • nulll
Re: firefox doesn't run
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2007, 05:17:42 am »

Quote
Have you tried re-installing Firefox?  Or updating to the latest version?
i would like to leave this option as a last chance...i'm afraid to loose my firefox add-ons and preference...

Quote
Trying to open firefox with a new profile could be an option to see if it's a profile issue.
firefox -help for flags and options
ok when i'm back home after work i'll give it a try...

Have u got more info about this segmentation fault error?
i'm getting it several times with a couple of apps ... what is about?
« Last Edit: October 15, 2007, 05:19:21 am by nulll »
Logged

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: firefox doesn't run
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2007, 05:55:24 am »

Personally, I've only had segmentation faults when I had a bad stick of ram.
Logged

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: firefox doesn't run
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2007, 07:22:04 am »

Quote
Have u got more info about this segmentation fault error?
segmentation fault (segfault) is a very general error, that's not very useful for troubleshooting or debugging. It means something went wrong trying to read from or write to memory. Usually, it has to do with a program trying to read past the end of data, or otherwise read memory that doesn't contain correct info.

For more info, read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Segmentation_fault .

Quote
Personally, I've only had segmentation faults when I had a bad stick of ram.
I've had them a lot trying to run a program I wrote myself in C. It had to do with trying to read past the end of an array one time.

[edit]
Or was it past the end of a file? I'm not too sure anymore, it was quite a toughy to figure out the first time.
[/edit]

segfaults don't necessarily mean bad memory, it often means something is trying to do something bad with the contents of the memory.

« Last Edit: October 15, 2007, 08:26:58 am by The Headacher »
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

nulll

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • nulll
Re: firefox doesn't run
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2007, 11:52:37 am »

thanks for the good explanation Headacher!

i don't know why but after a day of black out FF is running again...and i have done nothing!  :o
Logged