VectorLinux
April 18, 2014, 02:31:28 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
Author Topic: VL-5.9-STD-BETA1 Bugs/annoyances  (Read 26567 times)
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« on: October 14, 2007, 09:50:55 pm »

Post any bug reports and/or annoyances about BETA1 of 5.9 standard here.
Thanks,
Uelsk8s
« Last Edit: October 14, 2007, 10:59:53 pm by vector » Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2007, 10:08:22 am »

So far today I've had the XFCE desktop freeze up three times.  Ctrl+Alt+Backspace not working.  Even caps lock, number lock keys didn't work.  My mouse would move normally, but the mouse pointer was stuck on whatever was displayed at the time of lockup.

First time, I was multitasking while compiling.
Second time I was doing nothing more than a copy and paste of small directories.
Third time I was browsing VL message board. Nothing else.

Can't find anything interesting in the logs.  Not sure exactly what logs would be affected anyway.  I did find this in my .xsession-errors.
Quote
stderr is not a tty - where are you?
You are working as leeh
Frequently used programs:
Configuration  : vasm
File manager   : mc (press F2 for usefull menu)
Editor         : mcedit, vi
Multimedia     : alsamixer, play
/usr/bin/startxfce4: X server already running on display :0
Agent pid 2901
** Message: Querying Xkb extension
** Message: Xkb extension found
** Message: This build doesn't include support for XF86Misc extension
** Message: Querying Xkb extension
** Message: Xkb extension found
I found the same message after the second lockup.  Not sure if it was written before, during, or after the lockup.

Edit:  Wanted to add that I am using VL supplied nvidia legacy driver.  I'm going to reinstall and use xorg nv driver instead to see if that helps.  I have to anyway.  The nvidia package is picked up by requiredbuilder when I'm packaging.  Undecided

Edit: Okay.  Clean install.  Same message in .xsession-errors
Also.  I'm using the beta mentioned in packagers board.  Just in case it's not th same beta?
« Last Edit: October 15, 2007, 10:44:20 am by exeterdad » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3939



« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2007, 11:21:10 am »

- I found same problem as exeterdad on my system, GF2MX400/nvidia-legacy.

- Syntax error in /etc/rc.d/rc.local, line 28 and 34: "echonl" is probably supposed to be just "echo".

- Only detected one of my two optical drives (one DVD, one CDRW).

- When booting TUI then startx: No logout/shutdown options on start menu.
Logged
DrCR
Vectorite
***
Posts: 166


« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2007, 02:38:08 pm »

This is prefect timing. I'm still looking for an proper out-of-box distro support for my Santa-Rosa MacBook Pro. Smiley

Just got to find the time to join in the testing to make Vector the one...

What kernel version is this beta at?

DrCR

_________________
MacBook Pro Santa Rosa, 2.2GHz, 8600MGT, 250GB Scorpio, Ceramique compound
Pending: Tux Logo mod
MBRed Hard Drive with: OSX WinXP, Vista (MSDN), Vector 5.8 SOHO, Sidux 2007-03
Pending VMWare Fusion "bootcamps" pointing to native OS installs
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2007, 02:48:34 pm »

exeterdad, nightflier,
can either of you try reinstalling and booting using linux at the boot prompt?

DrCR, the kernel is 2.6.22.9
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2007, 03:04:15 pm »

Pardon my ignorance, but huh?  Reinstall how? With or without legacy.  Then use the tui? Then manually start the x server?
Logged
Masta
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 725



« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2007, 05:10:48 pm »

I think he means reinstall like you did last time, only this time, use command "linux" at the boot prompt.
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2007, 05:40:39 pm »

If he's talking about typing "linux" at the prompt when installing...
That is what I did.  With both the installs I've made so far.
Just to add.  I've been using the "nv" or "vesa" xorg drivers all evening without a hitch.  Glxgears is painful to watch.  But no lockups or anything. Also, if it is helpful,  nightflier and I happen to be using the same vid card.  GeForce2 MX/MX 400. Yeah I know, don't laugh. It's all I need.  Smiley
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3939



« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2007, 06:08:35 pm »

I kinda went the other way. I always set TUI as default until I am sure X is working, so that was my starting poing. So I changed setting to GUI and have not had any lockups after running for about 6 hours, surfing, playing music and videos. The old videocard is giving me over 800 fps in glxgears (with CPU at 100%) and ppracer runs smoothly. I'll try mixing up login methods/drivers tomorrow.

The issue of nothing happening when I click "Log out" is still there, but I found it to be intermittent. Some times I click and every thing is normal, other times it doesn't work. Guess that is not related to the way I log in.
Logged
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2007, 09:36:22 pm »

nightflier..........i found removing the .xinitrc from ~HOME folder took care of the logout issues...........don't ask me why. If you remove .xinitrc please fix the symlink in /etc/X11/xinit so that xinitrc points to xinitrc.xfce then startx will work correctly.
vec
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3939



« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2007, 07:17:04 am »

- Found a pattern: Using nvidia, I get a lockup every time I open a terminal and launch mc. This regardless of login approach.
-- When using nv this does not happen.

After following Vector's suggestion I have not seen the logout bug.  Smiley
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2503



« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2007, 07:21:31 am »

nightflier,
I am assuming you are using "terminal" to run mc.
If so can you try the same thing using xterm?
Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2007, 07:37:34 am »

I think Nightflier is on to something.  Every time I had a lockup.  I had at least one Terminal open.  Mounting a partition through Terminal was strangely slow.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3939



« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2007, 07:38:43 am »

- Correct assumption: "terminal" gives lockup every time.
-- When using "xterm" it works fine.
Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 639



« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2007, 12:48:47 pm »

Not yet found the terminal bug, opened and closed mc from a terminal a number of times.  Have the nVidia drivers installed.

On the other hand when installing at the first time setting up the keyboard it setting it for UK settings doesn't work, you just get the USA layout, though this is corrected when you install keyboard layouts later.  Will try to log out and see what happens.  Using Xfce as a desktop environment.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!