VectorLinux
December 22, 2014, 01:33:20 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Get X Windows to Config FIXED  (Read 6387 times)
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #15 on: October 21, 2007, 10:36:28 am »

stuarts-burgers,
it looks like above when you set the driver to vesa you used capitol letters like "VESA"
try it again with "vesa" and let us know how it goes.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
stuarts-burgers
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #16 on: October 21, 2007, 10:55:54 am »

Hi
 Did set with both Upper and Lower case letters, with Upper Case got very little reply with
Lower case I got the report that I have shown. ie as below

(ww)****INVALID IO ALLOCATION**** b:0x14e0
e:0x14e7
(EE) VESA (0) No matching modules
(EE) Screen9s0 found but none have usable configuration
Fatal server error
No screens found
X10 fatal IO error 104
« Last Edit: October 21, 2007, 10:57:28 am by stuarts-burgers » Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #17 on: October 21, 2007, 02:02:18 pm »

Basicly what I am doing is Starting computer from off with Live Knoppix Cd in CD ROM I do what I need to do then I close the computer down ( almost turn off at wall almost) and remove Knoppix CD.
I then turn computer back on and it boots Vector Linux from Hard Drive I do what is needed then turn then close down computer (almost  turn off at wall )
So you see I do not have seem to have access to Vector while using Knoppix and the same for Knoppix while using Vector.

You need to save the xconfig file to media you can access from Vector. Save it to a USB flash drive if you have one or a floppy disk if you have a floppy drive or to your hard drive if you mount it in Knoppix. Then when you start Vector, just go to the medium on which you saved it and copy it to VL.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1862


« Reply #18 on: October 21, 2007, 02:14:48 pm »

In knoppix you can burn the the file to a CD or
copy to a USB key. Then in Vector you and do
this.

As root in console:

mount /dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom

This will mount the cdrom for access.

Next copy the file:

cat /mnt/cdrom/xconfig > /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Then try the startx.

I have no problem helping, I also find great joy solving a perplexing
problem.

The real problem is that not every computer configuration can be anticipated
so can be challenges.

Keep going.

Bigpaws
Logged
stuarts-burgers
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #19 on: October 21, 2007, 02:20:57 pm »

Hi
   Did some digging on my own and found that in /etc of Knoppix them seems to be no xorg.conf file  so I worked out to save outputs to USB and here is the ls of the X11 directory of my Knoppix

noppix@ttyp0[knoppix]$ cd /etc
knoppix@ttyp0[etc]$ cd X11
knoppix@ttyp0[X11]$ ls
WindowMaker                    newxserver.xserver-i128
X                              newxserver.xserver-mach32
XF86Config                     newxserver.xserver-mach64
XF86Config-4                   newxserver.xserver-mach8
XF86Config-4.in                newxserver.xserver-mono
XF86Config.in                  newxserver.xserver-p9000
XftConfig                      newxserver.xserver-s3
Xloadimage                     newxserver.xserver-s3v
Xmodmap.xbase-clients-old      newxserver.xserver-svga
Xresources                     newxserver.xserver-vga16
Xserver.xserver-common-backup  newxserver.xserver-w32
Xsession                       rgb.txt
Xsession.d                     rstart
Xsession.options               ru
Xwrapper.config                rxvt.menu
app-defaults                   sawmill
cursors                        serverconfig
default-display-manager        starthere
fluxbox                        sysconfig
fonts                          twm
fs                             xawtvrc
icewm                          xdm
ja_JP.eucJP                    xfce
ko_KR.eucKR                    xfce4
newxserver.xserver-3dlabs      xinit
newxserver.xserver-8514        xkb
newxserver.xserver-agx         xserver
newxserver.xserver-fbdev       xsm
newxserver.xserver-ggi

This may help you. I looked in XF86 but could find nothing that looked right you maybe able to point me at the file I need to look in.

Thanks Stuart

 
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1862


« Reply #20 on: October 21, 2007, 04:24:31 pm »

You do not appear to be in /etc/X11/ you can use pwd to check.

If this is a current version of Knoppix then:

As root:

updatedb 
 
You may not notice anything happening (couple take about 2-3 min.) wait
until the cursor returns.

Then:

locate xorg.conf

That will give you the location to the config.

You keep trying I'll keep answering. Smiley

Bigpaws
Logged
stuarts-burgers
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #21 on: October 21, 2007, 05:34:05 pm »

Hi
   Here is the report of the locate command  which file  should I look in.


root@ttyp0[knoppix]# locate xorg.conf
/mnt/hda1/etc/X11/xorg.conf
/mnt/hda1/etc/X11/xorg.conf-vesa
/mnt/hda1/etc/X11/xorg.conf.ati
/mnt/hda1/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup
/mnt/hda1/tmp/.xorg.conf3049
/mnt/hda1/tmp/.xorg.conf3078
/mnt/hda1/tmp/.xorg.conf8998
/mnt/hda1/tmp/.xorg.conf9026
/mnt/hda1/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xorg.conf.eg
/mnt/hda1/usr/X11R6/man/man5/xorg.conf.5x.gz
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #22 on: October 21, 2007, 06:35:15 pm »

you are using an older knoppix that uses xfree86. Your Vl is mounted in knoppix as /mnt/hda1
you can "cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /mnt/hda1/etc/X11/xorg.conf" from knoppix and then reboot to VL
to try it out
Logged
stuarts-burgers
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #23 on: October 21, 2007, 07:15:27 pm »

you are using an older knoppix that uses xfree86. Your Vl is mounted in knoppix as /mnt/hda1
you can "cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /mnt/hda1/etc/X11/xorg.conf" from knoppix and then reboot to VL
to try it out

I tried this and still no joy  seem to lacking some files

Looked at the  conf log
Failed to Load /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.so
Failed to Load module "GLcore"
Failed to load module "speedo"
VESA(0) : no matching mode
Screen(s) found buit none have useful configuration
« Last Edit: October 21, 2007, 07:57:42 pm by stuarts-burgers » Logged
stuarts-burgers
Member
*
Posts: 15


« Reply #24 on: October 27, 2007, 01:36:00 pm »

HI
   A big thanks to all who helped with this in the end I went to Xfree and got 4.7.0 down loaded and used that to set up my X Config. I feel over the moon I did some thing under the hood that worked. now on wards and up wards.
Thanks again guys and Granny
Stuart
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!