Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Configuration of X after startup  (Read 3023 times)

darkapolloslx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Configuration of X after startup
« on: October 20, 2007, 03:32:47 am »
Hi.

I have just installed Vector on a Compaq laptop. X has been setup, however  I have to run startx to start the server after login, but when I do I get xterm, not KDE. I can run KDE by entering startkde, however xterm stays up.

Can I get the x server to start on login and load KDE without xterm?


The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: Configuration of X after startup
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2007, 03:53:50 am »
You might have chosen runlevel 1,2, or 3 as default? try setting it to 4:
VASM -> SUPER (enter root password) -> BOOTSET -> 4

If it's already set to 4, something else might be the problem, but I can't quite think of what it would be.
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

darkapolloslx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Configuration of X after startup
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2007, 01:12:57 pm »
Hi,

I've looked more closely at the problem, and found that it is caused by missing module "fplrx", which is for the ATI graphics card.

How can I install that module or is there a work around?

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Configuration of X after startup
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2007, 02:55:58 pm »
You can try to download the driver from ATI the
corresponds to your video.

Bigpaws

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Configuration of X after startup
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2007, 03:37:23 pm »
darkapolloslx,
run the code below as the user you login as
Code: [Select]
cp /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.kde .xinitrcthen as root change the line in /etc/inittab that says
Code: [Select]
# Default runlevel. (Do not set to 0 or 6 !)
id:2:initdefault:
to
Code: [Select]
# Default runlevel. (Do not set to 0 or 6 !)
id:4:initdefault:

also if you can post the version of VL your using it can always help