VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 10:44:00 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11
  Print  
Author Topic: VL-5.9-STD-BETA2 Bugs/annoyances  (Read 49522 times)
blurymind
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1082



« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2007, 11:46:26 pm »

grannygeek>I had the no sound problem with pseudo. try alsaconfig.
I think there was something wrong with the mixer then.The problem was not with the sound device but with xfce.Every time i logged in,sound was turned off by default. I had to do something to enable it,but i dont remember anymore what it was. Sad
Logged

status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/
Masta
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 725



« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2007, 11:51:44 pm »

And to be honest I don't like the new art work... though that is just a matter of taste.

suggestions are always helpful  Wink
Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 650



« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2007, 11:56:01 pm »

To be honest I loved the art work for Vector 5.01 and 5.1.  I don't like the wallpaper used as background for the log in screen or for the initial splash screen.   
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #18 on: October 24, 2007, 05:59:37 am »

Window managers. According to release announcement "include Xfce4, jwm, fluxbox"..

- Only choices I see using vasm are twm and xfce4. Both give you xfce4.
- trying startfluxbox: Couldn't connect to XServer
- trying startfluxbox-desk: command not found
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #19 on: October 24, 2007, 06:21:40 am »

Window managers. According to release announcement "include Xfce4, jwm, fluxbox"..

- Only choices I see using vasm are twm and xfce4. Both give you xfce4.
- trying startfluxbox: Couldn't connect to XServer
- trying startfluxbox-desk: command not found
Was fluxbox selected when you installed from the CD?
Logged
phantomgannon
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #20 on: October 24, 2007, 08:15:47 am »

Installed fine but Xsane can't find my Canon Lide60 scanner (which works fine on the 5.8 live CD) also trying "hp-setup" for my HP Photosmart 8250 printer gives me

error: PyQt not installed. GUI not available. Exiting.
error: PyQt init failed. Reverting to interactive mode.
error: You must be root to run this utility.

On a side note will there be a music manager with ipod support on the standard version's final release? The SOHO release has Amarok so maybe Exaile would be good for the standard version.

Other than that it looks great & very nippy!
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #21 on: October 24, 2007, 08:55:09 am »

Install was fine, with one exception. Using 'auto' to configure X left me with a US keyboard layout  in X instead of the UK layout I selected in the prior stage.

Minor annoyance - MC still says that a .tlz file doesn't look like a tar archive.

Gslapt locked up on me several times.

The system won't mount optical drives. I've tried both Vl-hot and HAL. HAL puts an icon on the desktop, but any attempt to open it comes up with "A secutiry policy in place prevents this sender from sending this message to this recipient, see message bus configuration file (rejected message had interface "org.freedesktop.HAL.Device.Volume" member "Mount" error name" (unset) destination "org.freedesktop.Hal").

A USB flash drive also fails to mount using HAL - I get a few flashes from the drive, but there is no icon and it does not seem to mount anywhere at all..

Smiley Otherwise, it seems to be running well

paul
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #22 on: October 24, 2007, 10:10:32 am »

Was fluxbox selected when you installed from the CD?

It is part of the default selection. I did not uncheck it.
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #23 on: October 24, 2007, 11:48:11 am »

Was fluxbox selected when you installed from the CD?

It is part of the default selection. I did not uncheck it.
Just checking  Smiley I'm using Fluxbox at the moment via KDM
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4022



« Reply #24 on: October 24, 2007, 03:07:53 pm »

It works if I use GUI login. When I boot to command line first, I can only get xfce4.

Reason why I mention it is that "startfluxbox" and "startfluxbox-desk" are on the list of useful commands at the greeting prompt. If they don't work they should be removed.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #25 on: October 24, 2007, 07:32:57 pm »

I messed up the udev rules pretty bad in Beta2.
Anyone that is having problem with hardware please give this ISO a try:
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/old-pkgs/VL5.9-STD-B2.3.iso
it should fix cdrom, wireless and other HW issues.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #26 on: October 25, 2007, 01:27:17 am »

I messed up the udev rules pretty bad in Beta2.
Anyone that is having problem with hardware please give this ISO a try:
http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/old-pkgs/VL5.9-STD-B2.3.iso
it should fix cdrom, wireless and other HW issues.

Installed. I'm currently using HAL (haven't tried Vl-hot yet). CDs now load correctly. However, attempting to mount a USB flash drive fails with the same "security policy" error that I was seeing with beta2 on CDs. In addtion, after double-clicking on the icon, when the error popu is closed, the icon stays with the mouse cursor and gets dragged over the screen.

Keyboard layout. In beta 1, both the console and X keyboard layouts were set correctly after install. With beta2, I used the auto setup for X and ended up with US layout in X. With beta 2.3, I used the manual (select 1024x768 resolution) and still ended up with the US keyboard layout in X - had to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf to get the correct UK layout.

Annoyances - MC still doesn't recognize .tlz package files as archives.

I find the standard mouse cursor much too big on the laptop screen, so I use the mouse setting to reduce its size. Works fine, but doesn't work properly in some X apps. For instance, in Seamonkey, the mouse cursor is quite a bit larger than it is on the desktop. Spoils the otherwise excellent aesthetics of the desktop.

The new Vlpackager looks a lot better than the last version. There is still some minor truncation on the middle button, but it looks and works much better than it did. One item - first time I tried to fire it up, I must have mistyped the root password. No error - it just failed silently, leaving me wondering what was going on...

On a matter of how things look - the ability to use the Thunar context menu to install packages is great, but the icons for the install, remove and explode options are broken. In addition, if you look at Zenwalk, its similar function is a bit easier to understand - it provides a progress bar and closes when the package is installed. With Vector, I'm left wondering if the package has installed, or, on a big package, wondering if it is doing anything until the final information box comes up.

More later - so far it looks very promising....

paul.
Logged
Witek Mozga
Vectorite
***
Posts: 113



WWW
« Reply #27 on: October 25, 2007, 03:03:19 am »

My observations:
1.Wifi radar cannot be launched.
2. I cannot make my ASUS A9RP laptop`s USB wifi card to work (it works well under latest ubuntu 7.10 and Sabayon with zd1211[rw] module). It was the same problem with the latest Vector SOHO but I thought it was due to older kernel version. Since 2.6.22 zd1211 should work properly (and it does as I mentioned above).
Logged

Witek Mozga
Vectorite
***
Posts: 113



WWW
« Reply #28 on: October 25, 2007, 03:45:25 am »

My other observations on ASUS A9RP laptop:

1. clicking on Volume Control icon shows empty window
2. I cannot make my screen brighter or dimmer using laptop`s function keys (possible before booting Vector and on Ubuntu and PC-BSD)
3. Xine and Mplayer shows vertical bars instead of movie (sound is OK), both AVI and MOV files.
4. There is no default aplication connected to PDF files when clicking on them
5. hardinfo gui crashes when clicking on sensors.
6. hardinfo and lsub shows no devices though I have USB wifi and mouse
« Last Edit: October 25, 2007, 04:40:29 am by wm » Logged

toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #29 on: October 25, 2007, 08:23:07 am »

As a follow on, I've now switched to Vl-hot, and USB devices load correctly. I'm also able to manually mount CDs.

Another problem noticed in Beta1 is still there as well - using VASM to add partitions, /dev/hda1 is correctly identified as NTFS/HPFS (its a Windows NTFS partition) in the first page, but the add routine then treats it as XFS,

paul
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!