VectorLinux
August 01, 2014, 02:09:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: vector for laptops?  (Read 1576 times)
mortal

« on: October 26, 2007, 09:56:00 pm »

Hi,I'm new to vector and just had a couple questions-

How well does speedstep perform?

How well does wine perform?

This is for a thinkpad t22  384mb ram.I'm using slack 12/blackbox at the moment but I could use a fully functional distro geared towards older machines that uses a smaller memory"footprint".Right now I have about 85 mb ram free with mozilla open and nothing else.Would vector be much better?
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2007, 12:31:45 pm »

Wine performs very well with some programs, with varying degrees of success with others, and not at all with some. If you tell us what you'd like to run under Wine, somebody can tell you whether they've run it and how well for some programs, anyway.

Vector often runs faster than other distros because it doesn't load many services and daemons by default. I can't answer your questions about Firefox (mozilla, I presume) and Speedstep.
--GrannyGeek

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian

« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2007, 12:47:01 pm »

How well does speedstep perform?