VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: vcpufreq  (Read 1713 times)

voodoo.child

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
vcpufreq
« on: October 31, 2007, 04:35:16 pm »

i have a dell inspiron 1505, with a dual core processor (T2050). I just installed vector-linux, but I don't know how to make my cpus run in c4, at 800mhz instead of 1600 (fullspead). vcpufreq says something like:

"unable to set desired scaling governor... try modprobing corresponding governor module:
# modprobe cpufreq_userspace"

however there is no such module. i tried inserting all cpufreq* modules and everything found in /lib/modules/2.6.18.5/kernel/drivers/acpi directory, but still vcpufreq doesn't work.

hereis the full output from vcpufreq-load

root:# vcpufreq-load
vcpufreq-load enabled in config...
CPUFreqPath: /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq
sh: /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor: No such file or directory
Unable to set desired scaling governor...
try modprobing corresponding governor module:

# modprobe cpufreq_userspace
sh: line 1: try: command not found
Set scaling governor: userspace
sh: /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed: No such file or directory
Set scaling speed: 0 (0 MegaHertz)
sh: /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq: No such file or directory
Set scaling max freq.: 0 (0 MegaHertz)
sh: /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq: No such file or directory
Set scaling min freq.: 0 (0 MegaHertz)

what modules should I load? how can I fix this problem?
Logged

mortal

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: vcpufreq
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2007, 06:23:03 pm »

refer to my post "vector for laptops" there is some help there that i found useful.That post is a little down the page from yours.
Logged

voodoo.child

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: vcpufreq
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2007, 11:12:02 pm »

i started from your topic...  but could not understand exactly what i should do :) except that I have to insert some modules which clearly didn't work for me.
Logged

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: vcpufreq
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2007, 12:57:57 am »

My core 2 duo t5300 seems to need the module "speedstep-lib" to be loaded. There are probably nicer ways to do this, but adding
Code: [Select]
modprobe speedstep-lib to the file /etc/rc.d/rc.local should make sure the module is loaded each time you start the system.
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: vcpufreq
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2007, 04:37:16 am »

My core 2 duo t5300 seems to need the module "speedstep-lib" to be loaded. There are probably nicer ways to do this, but adding
Code: [Select]
modprobe speedstep-lib to the file /etc/rc.d/rc.local should make sure the module is loaded each time you start the system.

Isn't it better to add it to /etc/rc.modules? That file seems set up to allow easy addition of needed modules. I added /sbin/modprobe thinkpad_acpi to it to get the thinkpad_acpi loaded for my Thinkpad.

paul
Logged

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: vcpufreq
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2007, 09:42:45 am »

Are the modules actually there? Sounds like they are missing. Have you recompiled the kernel with a custom configuration?
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10