VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: If Vector does not have a package I want, can I install Slackware package ?  (Read 1823 times)

brjoon1021

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22

Hi,

I am really getting at just how slackware compatible Vector is. I am looking for a Slackware compatible distro (not smart enough or courageous enough to run Slackware itself) that I can use Slackware packages on if not available through the distros repositories. I want KDE, too.

I tried Absolute Linux, but I don't like light window managers and I don't like Lilo
Zenwalk is not Slack compatible anymore, if I understand it correctly. Not wild about XFCE but it is OK
Wolvix killed my MBR about three times in a row, maybe later.
Goblinx killed my MBR last time around.

I like Vector standard, I used it way back at around 3.2 or so and I recently installed the 5.9 RC or beta. I really prefer KDE to XFCE by leaps and bounds so I am waiting for the KDE version - SOHO - but the Slackware compatability question is my last hurdle, so to speak.

Thanks,
b
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504

yes, but you should use the same slackware versions as the VL version you are using was based on.
type "cat /etc/slackware-version" to be certain.

HTH,
Uelsk8s
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922

... so I am waiting for the KDE version - SOHO

VL SOHO 5.8 SOHO is available and is only about 5 months old so why not load it instead of waiting for 5.9 SOHO???
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

brjoon1021

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22

Would 5.8 SOHO be upgradeable to 5.9 SOHO by using the package manager (assuming a separate /home partiton) ? Also, regarding the first reply, isn't 5.8 SOHO based on Slackware 11 ?

Thanks,

B.
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2305

Would 5.8 SOHO be upgradeable to 5.9 SOHO by using the package manager (assuming a separate /home partiton) ?

I think the answer is no. There is a hole new toolchain, probaly slapt-get would need to download the full iso anyway. You can keep your home partition, though. You should just reinstall and mount your old /home partition. I think is not a big deal, the install should be really easy in general.

Also, regarding the first reply, isn't 5.8 SOHO based on Slackware 11 ?

Thanks,

B.

Yes, you can use the Slackware 11 packages on 5.8 releases.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 08:03:19 pm by rbistolfi »
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

desmogiallo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15

and if you want to keep your installed apps, keep both /home and /usr on a different partition. So if you re-install Vector, you don't have to re-install every package..
Logged

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)

There are KDE packages available in the "testing" repository for VL 5.9.
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website

and if you want to keep your installed apps, keep both /home and /usr on a different partition. So if you re-install Vector, you don't have to re-install every package..
Well, with the drastic toolchain upgrade, you'd mostly be getting segfaults, unless they are python, perl or gambas apps (basically anything interpreted).
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10