VectorLinux
August 31, 2014, 11:51:37 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Two problems--CD write and Sound  (Read 1165 times)
Nightshado68

« on: November 10, 2007, 06:25:01 pm »

I am running VL 5.8 standard gold, and I want to dual boot with DSL. (Damn Small Linux)(I'm new to Linux and I am Experimenting...) However, when I try to burn the DSL 4.0 ISO image with gravedigger, the percentage bars (percent done burning) come up, but never move. Then, after a while, the program closes. All of this time, the green light (indicates that information is being read) is on, but never the red one (indicating information is being written). I'm using a "MSI CD-RW  MS-8348", according to graveman (it does say MSI on the drive).  I've tried  updating everything I could find under gslapt that indicates that it is for cd-writing (I could have missed some), but no change...

UPDATE: I think I may have gotten to the core of the problem...
               I tried to burn a CD in terminal by typing the following...

Code:
cdrecord -v speed=16 dev=2,0,0 /buffer/mycd.iso

After typing that in, Linux spews out the following, REPEATEDLY (wow, it was very annoying...)

Code:
cdrecord: No such device or address. Cannot send SCSI cmd via ioctl

I DONT HAVE AN SCSI DEVICE!!!!!

srry, i'm kinda aggravated right now...

:END UPDATE

Also, ever since I've installed VL, I had no sound from my speakers. I've checked all of the connections, volume, and everything. It looks as though Linux recognizes the fact that there is a sound card, but it doesn't work...