VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 01:58:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 8
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux5.9-rc-1 bugs, suggestions and discussion  (Read 27679 times)
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2007, 01:57:05 am »

OK the good news, UK keyboard works :-)
The bad news I still have the issue that the system crashes when ever I launch a terminal or a terminal application.  :-(
Thanks for in inclusion of xkill, nice to have a graphical utility, however when seamonkey crashes or freezes, which some flash sites and utube etc tend to, then you are still stuck with being unable to relaunch without logging out and restarting the system.

what video card do you have there?
can you also post the Driver section of you xorg.conf?

Video is an i810 onboard graphics card with no dedicated memory, dynamically shared.

here is the section.

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: : integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [
arg]: arg optional
#Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
#Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "ColorKey"              #
#Option     "CacheLines"            #
#Option     "Dac6Bit"               # [
<bool>]
#Option     "DRI"                   # [<bool>]
#Option     "NoDDC"                 # [<bool>]
#Option     "ShowCache"             # [<bool>]
#Option     "XvMCSurfaces"          #
#Option     "PageFlip"              # [
<bool>]
Identifier  "Card0"
Driver      "i810"
VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
BoardName   "82815 Chipset Graphics Controller (CGC)"
BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 02:29:17 am by Lyn » Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2007, 01:58:57 am »

Also the master mono sound slider works now :-) so with the internal speaker I can control sound output on this Compaq deskpro EN machine.
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2288


« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2007, 05:08:42 am »

The Terminal thing is still there, but probably is the xorg thing Vector mentioned. It looks weird, black and white, like a bad tunning tv.
Would you try the terminal in fluxbox or jwm see if same results........trying to track the terminal bug down.

Thanks vec

The problem is there at JWM and the others. I checked all the logs including xorg.log, everything is normal. I get segmentation faults starting fluxbox, like with mplayer. Probably a bad install? I will try to reinstall the packages with slapt-get, but I tried literally all the other X apps and they work but Scribus.
A few things I found, running the root terminal through the menu gives the regular user terminal. Scribus exits with error code  11 after the bootsplash. Log out through the JWM menu reboots the machine.
I will see if I can track the origin of those problems.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2007, 05:21:10 am »

Install still stalls on the FLGX driver for the ATI card in the machine - drops me into Mcedit to fix the problem, but it looks as though the driver section of xorg.conf isn't included at all. I'll have to try and see if I can save the file somewhere else so I can examine it at leisure. I usually run the install in framebuffer mode (vga=791), don't know if that could affect this?
Can you post the output of lspci and lsmod?

Sure. Lsmod:

Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
radeon                122912  2
drm                    74388  3 radeon
cpufreq_ondemand        7692  1
acpi_cpufreq            7880  1
freq_table              4768  2 cpufreq_ondemand,acpi_cpufreq
thinkpad_acpi          40364  0
e100                   33292  0
mii                     5504  1 e100
snd_seq_dummy           3716  0
snd_seq_oss            30080  0
snd_seq_midi_event      7040  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                47952  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7436  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            40096  0
snd_mixer_oss          15104  1 snd_pcm_oss
hpfs                   70916  2
fuse                   39828  3
wlan_scan_sta          13056  0
ath_rate_sample        13184  1
ath_pci                89504  0
snd_intel8x0           29596  2
wlan                  192964  4 wlan_scan_sta,ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
snd_ac97_codec         97060  1 snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus                2944  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                69892  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              19844  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    44516  13 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
serio_raw               6276  0
ath_hal               190672  3 ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
soundcore               7008  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          8712  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
i2c_i801                8592  0
intel_agp              22164  1
iTCO_wdt                9640  0
agpgart                28108  2 drm,intel_agp
i2c_core               20992  1 i2c_i801
shpchp                 30228  0
pci_hotplug            28616  1 shpchp
evdev                   8704  4

And lspci:

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to I/O Controller (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82855PM Processor to AGP Controller (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 81)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility M7 LW [Radeon Mobility 7500]
02:00.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1520 PC card Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
02:00.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1520 PC card Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
02:02.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
02:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB PRO/100 VE (MOB) Ethernet Controller (rev 81)

Quote
also what brand and model of ati card do you have?

Its an Ati Radeon Mobility M7, Radeon Mobility 7500. IBM brand, I guess...

paul.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2007, 06:40:57 am »

toothandnail,
Now that I know why it fails for you I will work out a way to fix it.
The fglrx driver dropped support for older cards like yours.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2007, 10:09:54 am »

toothandnail,
Now that I know why it fails for you I will work out a way to fix it.
The fglrx driver dropped support for older cards like yours.

Ah. Good to know you've found the problem. As to fixing it, personally I'm not too concerned. Maybe better detection so that the choice is not offered would be the way to go.

 Grin I've always been happy enough with the open source drivers, only tried the flgx stuff for testing, since the choice was offered...

paul.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #21 on: November 09, 2007, 11:41:21 am »

I've just installed RC1 on my Celeron desktop, which is a very Linux-friendly computer. So far I haven't found any problems. The computer has a Radeon 9200 with 128 megs. I tried to use the proprietary driver offered through VASM, but it failed to install properly. No big problem. I'm currently using the open-source radeon driver.

I found a few more problems on my laptop, where I have to use the 2.6.22.10sm kernel. I have only a couple of icons (Screensaver and VASM) in the XFce Settings Manager screen. There is a text label for each item and they work when I click on them, but the icons in the main Settings Manager screen are missing. Some are also missing from the XFce desktop menu (the one you get when you right-click on the desktop or click on the far-right icon in the Panel).

I think there were one or two other oddities I noticed, but I don't have that computer turned on right now, so will have to wait until tonight.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2007, 11:46:33 am »


I have only a couple of icons (Screensaver and VASM) in the XFce Settings Manager screen. There is a text label for each item and they work when I click on them, but the icons in the main Settings Manager screen are missing. Some are also missing from the XFce desktop menu (the one you get when you right-click on the desktop or click on the far-right icon in the Panel).

--GrannyGeek

I think this is due to a bad icon theme... I've seen this before. This happened to me when I installed a test package that contained some stuff for the VASM2 project... The package installed some icons, but it also screwed up my default theme... Changing the icon theme did it for me thoug. But then again, I'm not running RC1 ... still running the old Pseudo-0.2
Logged

GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2007, 11:54:08 am »

I think this is due to a bad icon theme... I've seen this before. This happened to me when I installed a test package that contained some stuff for the VASM2 project... The package installed some icons, but it also screwed up my default theme... Changing the icon theme did it for me thoug. But then again, I'm not running RC1 ... still running the old Pseudo-0.2

The first thing I tried for fixing it was changing to a different icon theme. It didn't help, but maybe I should try more themes. They're all the ones that came with VL5.9 RC1. I was using the default 5.9 theme when I noticed the icons were missing. Default desktop icons were okay.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #24 on: November 09, 2007, 06:39:15 pm »

The computer gods have smiled on me! When I turned on the laptop and booted 5.9 rc1 today, the icons were all there in the XFce Settings Manager and the XFce Desktop menu. Orage stayed in the system tray after I hit the Close button at the upper right as I wanted it to; yesterday it didn't. At the moment, I can't think of any bugs I've noticed.

Wireless continues to work flawlessly and I set up my nfs network with the 5.9 rc1 desktop and am moving files back and forth.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #25 on: November 09, 2007, 11:32:17 pm »

Just installed and booted w/o problem.

This time I had only to rmmod tulip and modprobe dmfe to get the Internet connection. Great

Music CD can only be played with xine. Is that normal? At home in VL5.8 I just give command from terminal such as cdplay. I understand that this program is not included in VL5.9

On xfce4-panel no icons for quit and speaker.

Clicking on Audio CD icon I get error: unable to mount Audio CD. After that the CD icon follow the mouse and will land where ever the mouse is clicked again.

frozen-bubble can not be launched since it lacks sound files it claims.

Needless to mention that megamario and cohorts can only be launched outside X with my savage graphic card.

Have not checked printing. Expect no problems after copying printers.conf over from VL5.8.

That pouse pointer is mighty big for my taste.

Ah yes, boot messages are 3 lines below terminal frame, then suddenly jump in correctly only to get out again at the end of booting. However, after login all sits in the frame, like mc.
Logged
ludocools
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #26 on: November 09, 2007, 11:58:09 pm »

Installed VL5.9RC1 on a dedicated pc (ASUSK8V-MX Sempron2600+ build in VideoVIA-VGA mem 512MBRAM HD SATA), only used to test all kinds of distro's. Installation makes me think of ms-DOS again, no offense. It is a quick and logical install, and starting up is just as speedy: NICE!

GRUB messes up with a file, LinuxMint4.0 cannot be started again: a pitty, no loss on a test pc.

VLC is missing, and I think that is a pity, I love to listen to http://somafm.com/groovesalad24.pls, VLC is the only player that gives me full sound with a higly compressed MP3 file.

Other partitions, whether EXT or NTFS, are where?

The worse is the fact that, when installing install-crossover-standard-6.2.0.sh, and more precise when a WINE Bottle is being tried to being installed, the proces completely freezes my system. That means I cannot use this distro on my family members pc's (they feel addicted to Word and Powerpoint and Excel). They will continue to work with LinuxMint4.0 XFCE, untill this bug (?) is solved.


Addition

I'm trying to do the same thing on my older NEC/PackardBell Easynote (Athlon2000+ build in VideoVIA-VGA mem 770MBRAM HD PATA) and it installs fluently as it should! As far as VL is concerned, the better! Would it have to do with some video/VGA-problem or setting?
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 12:43:58 am by ludocools » Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1551


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #27 on: November 10, 2007, 03:02:50 am »

Quote
Other partitions, whether EXT or NTFS, are where?
Add them with "vasm" -> SUPER (supply root password) ->  FILESYSTEM -> MOUNT -> ADD
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
ludocools
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #28 on: November 10, 2007, 03:10:51 am »

Thanks for VASM, that taught me something useful.

n the logs I found the next messages:

libGL warning: 3D driver claims to not support visual 0x47
wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0x00000348 at address
0x7e679976 (thread 0013), starting debugger...
Can't attach process 0012: error 5

libGL warning: 3D driver claims to not support visual 0x47
wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0x00000348 at address
0x7dfd3976 (thread 001a), starting debugger...
Can't attach process 0019: error 5

It must be something with CrossOver?
Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #29 on: November 10, 2007, 05:30:12 am »

And only just noticed, no CD Rom found, when I check the devices applet there is no cd rom shown.  This is with Xfce.

Just to make sure this was a fault I did a fresh install.  While last time I ignored the scsi emulation step this time I used it.  Oh and this time I chose HAL rather than vl hot.

fstab  below

# The Linux partitions
/dev/hda1 / reiserfs  noatime  0  1
/dev/hda3 /home reiserfs noatime  0 2

# Shared Windows/Linux partition
#/dev/hda1   /mnt/dos  msdos  umask=0   0  0
#/dev/hda1   /mnt/win  vfat   fmask=111,dmask=0,quiet,shortname=mixed,user  0  0
#/dev/hda1   /mnt/win  ntfs   umask=0   0  0

# Floppy disks
# The 'noauto' option indicates that the file system should not be mounted
# with 'mount -a' 'user' indicates that normal users are allowed to mount
# the file system.
/dev/fd0   /mnt/floppy   auto   defaults,noauto,user   0 0
#/dev/fd1  /mnt/floppy   auto   defaults,noauto,user   0 0

# If you have a ls-120 floppy drive, it could be on /dev/hda b c d etc.
#/dev/hdd   /mnt/ls120   auto   defaults,noauto,user   0 0

# CDROM, CDWRITER, DVD

# NFS file systems:
#linux01.gwdg.de:/suse/6.3/i386.de  /mnt/nfs  nfs  defaults  0 0

# proc file system:
proc   /proc   proc   defaults   0 0

# Unix98 devpts filesystem:
none  /dev/pts  devpts  gid=5,mode=666  0 0

# Shared memory filesystem:
tmpfs   /dev/shm    tmpfs defaults 0  0

# Basic USB filesystem
sysfs  /sys  sysfs  defaults  0 0

# example of a VFAT USB pendrive
#/dev/sda1  /mnt/pendrive vfat   fmask=111,dmask=0,noauto,user,quiet,shortname=mixed 0 0


# Swap partitions
# The 'sw' option means auto activating with 'swapon -a'.
/dev/hda2   none   swap   sw   0  0
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!