VectorLinux
November 24, 2014, 08:00:31 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8
  Print  
Author Topic: VectorLinux5.9-rc-1 bugs, suggestions and discussion  (Read 28014 times)
nubcnubdo
Vectorian
****
Posts: 675


« Reply #75 on: November 13, 2007, 07:40:55 pm »

uelsk8s,
The vid card is RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro (rev. 15)

lagagnon,
Yes, I installed the kernel source. Also, I noticed the same bug with calling the Shutdown applet from Vector start button. However, when called by right clicking on dekstop to call the Xfce menu, the Shutdown dialog came up normally. The glitch associated with Vector button clears after a few false starts.

I'm taking another look at the fonts with 1024x768 resolution and I have to say, the fonts are smaller than what you might expect. I almost have to squint to read anything, and that is not usually the case with 1024x768 resolution.
Logged
nubcnubdo
Vectorian
****
Posts: 675


« Reply #76 on: November 13, 2007, 08:20:04 pm »

This is what happens when I select Nvidia Legacy driver:

Quote
Warning: The NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro GPU installed in this system is supported through the NVIDIA legacy Linux graphics drivers. Please visit http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html for more information. The 96.43.01 NVIDIA Linux graphics driver will ignore this GPU.

Warning: You do not appear to have an NVIDIA GPU supported by the 96.43.01 NVIDIA Linux graphics driver installed in this system. For further details, please see the appendix SUPPORTED NVIDIA GRAPHICS CHIPS in the README...

Building kernel module...
[progress bar]

Error: Unable to load the kernel module 'nvidia.ko'. This happens most frequently when this kernel module was built against the wrong or improperly configured kernel sources, with a version of gcc that differs from the one used to build the target kernel, or if a driver such as rivafb/nvidiafb is present and prevents the NVIDIA Kernel module from obtaining ownership of the NVIDIA graphics device(s). Please see log entries 'Kernel module load error' and 'Kernel messages' at the end of the file '/var/log/nvidia-installer.log' for more information.

Error: Installation has failed. Please see the file '/var/log/nvidia-installer.log' for details. You may find suggestions on fixing installation problems in the README available on the Linux driver download page at www.nvidia.com.

X WAS CONFIGURED SUCCESSFULLY
Your new X configuration has been saved to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

No...no...yes...no...no...YES...uh, no
« Last Edit: November 13, 2007, 08:39:07 pm by nubcnubdo » Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #77 on: November 13, 2007, 09:16:48 pm »

nubcnubdo,
when vxconf suggest the nvidia-legacy driver choose expert and then choose the 7186 driver.
can you post the output of lspci for that card?
Thanks
Uelsk8s
Logged
nubcnubdo
Vectorian
****
Posts: 675


« Reply #78 on: November 13, 2007, 10:15:46 pm »

Installation went smoothly, font size is correct now, with Nvidia Accelerated Graphics Driver version 71.86.01.

lspci:
Code:
root:# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133] (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133 AGP]
00:07.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super South] (rev 40)
00:07.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:07.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 16)
00:07.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 16)
00:07.4 SMBus: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super ACPI] (rev 40)
00:07.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: ADMtek NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100 (rev 11)
00:0c.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 536EP Data Fax Modem
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro] (rev 15)

Thanks, uelsk8s, that's much better.
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #79 on: November 16, 2007, 04:38:46 am »

Please post bugs, thoughts, improvements and anything else here concerning the 5.9-rc1 release. The release announcement said it all we are close to final so now is the time to speak up and also to volunteer if you see something that can be fixed and you know the answer to save us some work and time.

Thanks,
vec

I have a bug in RC1  In XFCE  when ever I click on the terminal it Crashes the X-Server.  it goes back to the login page, just as if I'd pressed Ctrl , Alt , Backspace.  I have temprorarily worked around this by changing all the termianal entries to execute xterm instead of terminal.. but don' like xterm as well.
Have just downloaded VL 5.9 RC1.3 don't know yet if it still has the same issue.  will load it tonight after work and give it a try.
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
tomh38
Vectorian
****
Posts: 913



« Reply #80 on: November 16, 2007, 05:40:39 am »

I noticed that Thunar wasn't automatically refreshing when I was downloading a large file.  I booted into my 5.8 install and didn't have this problem.  Did some googling, and apparently there is a know bug with gamin 0.1.8 and Thunar.  I downgraded to gamin 0.1.7, and now Thunar automatically refreshes.
Logged

"I'm doing a (free) operating system (just a hobby, won't be big and professional like gnu) for 386(486) AT clones." - Linus Torvalds, April 1991
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #81 on: November 16, 2007, 08:02:55 am »

Thunar not refreshing, or very slow to refresh is something I've noticed throughout this whole 5.9 release.  I forgot to mention as I've gotten used to it.  It is confusing when I extract a file and don't see the folder in the dir.  I have to refresh Thunar to see if it extracted or not.
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #82 on: November 16, 2007, 08:35:23 am »

I took a few minutes and loaded RC1.3 .Still have the same bug.
Any sugestions?
(See My post above)
Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
tomh38
Vectorian
****
Posts: 913



« Reply #83 on: November 16, 2007, 09:26:59 am »

exeterdad

Would you mind trying out gamin 0.1.7 - downgraded from 0.1.8 - just to see if this isn't just me?  I got it from the 5.8 repo, but here's a direct link:  http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.8/packages/base-apps/gamin-0.1.7-i586-4vl58.tlz.

I'm pretty sure this is a gamin bug.  I downgraded to 0.1.7 yesterday and haven't seen any problems since then.
Logged

"I'm doing a (free) operating system (just a hobby, won't be big and professional like gnu) for 386(486) AT clones." - Linus Torvalds, April 1991
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #84 on: November 16, 2007, 09:51:06 am »

I took a few minutes and loaded RC1.3 .Still have the same bug.
Any sugestions?
(See My post above)

can you post the ouput of "lspci|grep - vga"
and the out put of "cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf|grep Driver"

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #85 on: November 16, 2007, 10:11:14 am »

exeterdad
Would you mind trying out gamin 0.1.7 - downgraded from 0.1.8 - just to see if this isn't just me?  I got it from the 5.8 repo, but here's a direct link:  http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.8/packages/base-apps/gamin-0.1.7-i586-4vl58.tlz.

I'm pretty sure this is a gamin bug.  I downgraded to 0.1.7 yesterday and haven't seen any problems since then.
I can't do it right now, but your experience is good enough for me.  Google proved that Thunar 0.8.0 and gamin 01.8 are known to work well together.  But there are many factors that can affect whether or not they play nice together.  You running a older version successfully, eliminates Thunar and the kernel config possibilities.  Chances are it's a simple little oversight during packing.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #86 on: November 16, 2007, 01:52:16 pm »

xfburn seems unable to burn an ISO to CD on my Celeron desktop. It stayed at 1% until it gave me an error message that the job failed. I tried another CD and that failed, also. These were very old CD-RW disks that haven't been used a lot. I successfully burned the ISO to one using Windows.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #87 on: November 16, 2007, 02:01:44 pm »

Reinstalling gamin 0.18 from the repo and restarting Xfce seems to fix it as well.  I can now
Quote
mkdir test
and see it quickly appear with Thunar.

So I take back my comment about a possible package oversight.  Sorry  Smiley
Logged
kc1di
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1125


Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16


« Reply #88 on: November 16, 2007, 05:20:45 pm »

I took a few minutes and loaded RC1.3 .Still have the same bug.
Any sugestions?
(See My post above)

can you post the ouput of "lspci|grep - vga"
and the out put of "cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf|grep Driver"

Thanks,
Uelsk8s

Hi
to both commands I get the return no such file or directory.. I must be doing something wrong.
Thanks for your help

Logged

Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #89 on: November 16, 2007, 05:28:11 pm »

I took a few minutes and loaded RC1.3 .Still have the same bug.
Any sugestions?
(See My post above)

can you post the ouput of "lspci|grep - vga"
and the out put of "cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf|grep Driver"

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Hi
to both commands I get the return no such file or directory.. I must be doing something wrong.
Thanks for your help

I messed up the first command it should be
Code:
/sbin/lspci|grep -i vga
the second one is
Code:
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf|grep Driver

Try copying and pasting them.

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!