VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: [RESOLVED] Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?  (Read 3818 times)

emi

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21

I spent a couple hours seeing if I could install compiz fusion on my VL 5.8 SOHO last night. I upgraded by X server (http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=3278.0) successfully and built the compiz packages as described (http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=4422.0). Everything seems fine until I actually try to start the window manager:

Code: [Select]
$ LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1 INTEL_BATCH=1 compiz --replace --indirect-rendering --sm-disable ccp &
compiz (core) - Fatal: GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap is missing
compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0

I know that my hardware is capable because compiz works fine off a Sabayon Linux livecd using aiglx (I have an Intel 945GM card).

Anyway before I start doing a serious investigation of hardware and configuration problems I wanted to check if there are any software packages not installed on VL 5.8 that compiz fusion might need. I didn't see any errors when compiling.

Here is my xorg.conf:
http://dark-code.bulix.org/gauxam-60802

xdpyinfo dump:
http://dark-code.bulix.org/rtn377-60803

glxinfo dump:
http://dark-code.bulix.org/14fbc9-60804
« Last Edit: November 13, 2007, 08:01:15 pm by JohnB316 »
Logged

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2007, 12:39:30 am »

hello,
from your glxinfo dump
Quote
direct rendering: No
not sure what your missing, everything else looks good to me

HTH,
Uelsk8s
Logged

M-ake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2007, 02:46:18 am »

Hi!

Yes, I´ve had similar experiences with intel 950 gma graphics card running VL with upgraded X. It just randomly switches off 3d rendering. Probably a nasty bug or something, So far I havent found the solution for this. Anyways, reinstalling X did sometimes restore 3d accelleration, until it switched off again. I´ve had no similar experiences with other distros.

This was with 5.8 STD & using packages M0E´Inx built.
Logged
Jumalauta!!
--
Fish go m00!

stoichyu

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
Re: Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2007, 05:10:34 am »

You could try rebuilding Mesa and see if the direct rendering problem is fixed. I built Mesa 7 for my laptop with the 945gm and it solved most of the dri/3d problems.
Logged
There's no place like ~.
VL 5.8 PentiumD 2.8Ghz Registered Linux User #432836

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3217
Re: Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2007, 06:54:12 am »

The suggestions sund right... I have the same chip, and it works fine (in a vl5.9 beta)...

I'm assuming you also upgraded your toolchain along with xorg...

You should try the Mesa suggestion.

emi

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2007, 04:39:50 pm »

I'm assuming you also upgraded your toolchain along with xorg...

I think you are asking if I upgraded gcc and friends and no I didn't, I compiled the whole thing with the gcc 3.4.6 that shipped with the distro. I don't remember reading anywhere that 4.x was necessary. I did a search just now and I still can't find anything that says so.

So... I need to upgrade to gcc 4.x and automake x.whatever (and recompile the kernel as well?) then recompile compiz, and if that doesn't work, upgrade mesa?
Logged

emi

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2007, 06:17:53 pm »

Update:

I got it working. I compiled Mesa 7.0.2 and that solved everything. I didn't need to change the compiler... maybe I misunderstood what you meant by toolchain?

Thanks for the help everyone.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3217
Re: Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2007, 08:23:23 pm »

Update:

I got it working. I compiled Mesa 7.0.2 and that solved everything. I didn't need to change the compiler... maybe I misunderstood what you meant by toolchain?

Thanks for the help everyone.


Actualy, you do need to upgrade the compiler and friends to get the full power on fusion... some features may not work with the old compiler... in some cases, it may not even compile (like in my experience)

exeterdad

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: [RESOLVED] Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2007, 08:35:00 pm »

You disappoint me Moe!  This is a prime screenshot opp!  :D
Logged

emi

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2007, 09:06:43 pm »

Actualy, you do need to upgrade the compiler and friends to get the full power on fusion... some features may not work with the old compiler... in some cases, it may not even compile (like in my experience)

In that case I'll upgrade and do it over again. Is it safe to just borrow these packages from the VL 5.9 directory?:

gcc-4.1.2
gcc-g++-4.1.2
binutils-2.17.50.0.17

...Are there any others I'm missing? And will I need to recompile the kernel with the new gcc?
Logged

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: [RESOLVED] Has anyone successfully installed compiz fusion on VL 5.8 SOHO?
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2007, 12:16:43 am »

Quote
In that case I'll upgrade and do it over again.
I wouldn't do that if it's working now.

Quote
Is it safe to just borrow these packages from the VL 5.9 directory?:
No, you'll just break your system.

No eyecandy however pretty is worth the amount of trouble you're suggesting to go through. If you want to build yourself compiz-fusion against more recent versions of x and gcc the answer is VL 5.9. If you have some spare partition, just give it a go and try it on there.
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.