VectorLinux
October 21, 2014, 06:53:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
Author Topic: VL-5.9-STD-RC1.3  (Read 18106 times)
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #45 on: November 15, 2007, 03:24:07 pm »

It is possible to create an application like the current vasm in gambas2, using Text mode if GUI is not available and using GUI when X is running... but there is so much in vasm that I dont know... lots and lots of scripts... all of which would have to be re-worked to fit the new purpose.

That sounds to me like too much work for the small gain. I've never minded the looks of VASM in either text mode or the GUI version. It's plain, sure, but it's fully functional and easy to use.

Developer time might better be spent on something else. It would be nice to have a pretty VASMCC, though.

What I'd really like to see is an easier way to set up wireless. I was impressed with the GUI setup in PCLinuxOS and Mandriva One. I wish we could have something similar just for wireless (VASM is fine for the other stuff). It wouldn't need to be fancy; a text-look would be fine. It should just make it easy to set up everything needed for making a connection step by step, including a way to assign a fixed IP address, and a way to set up wifi-radar. Also a way to make the connection automatic whenever you start your computer, if that's what you want.

As it is now, I have to start wifi-radar whenever I start XFce, then I have to tell wifi-radar to disconnect, then tell it to connect. I don't understand why I have to disconnect with wifi-radar when it first starts and then tell it to connect. I suspect it has something to do with DNS, but I already have my connection's DNS server entered in VASM's wireless connection section and in wifi-radar.conf.

If we're concerned about new users, I think VL needs to make WPA wireless easier.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #46 on: November 15, 2007, 10:59:33 pm »

I think I just have confirmed that, as reported earlier I can't print with kernel 2.6.23.1.
I replaced it with kernel 2.6.21.1 and whoom, what was in the print queue was printed when I rebooted. I changed back to 2.6.23.1 and nothing is being printed again. Rebooted twice just to make sure, nothing doing.
Needless to say in between the changes I do the lilo bid.

My Epson LQ300 printer is connecetd to an USB port. Could that be the problem for kernel 2.6.23.1?
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #47 on: November 15, 2007, 11:02:37 pm »

Pita, that is one I haven't heard before. can you post output of lsmod and lsusb for both kernels?

Thanks,
Uelsk8s
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #48 on: November 16, 2007, 12:44:09 am »

Pita, that is one I haven't heard before. can you post output of lsmod and lsusb for both kernels?

Thanks,
Uelsk8s

In lsmod I removed the snd.... part to make it shorter.

lsmod26211

req_table              4640  0
lp                     11016  0
parport_pc             37220  1
parport                31688  2 lp,parport_pc
sg                     28584  0
ide_scsi               15372  0
gameport               12808  1 snd_via82xx
snd_ac97_codec         95788  1 snd_via82xx
ac97_bus                3072  1 snd_ac97_codec
usblp                  12804  0
i2c_prosavage           4608  0
soundcore               7264  1 snd
i2c_algo_bit            8208  1 i2c_prosavage
i2c_viapro              8988  0
i2c_core               18816  3 i2c_prosavage,i2c_algo_bit,i2c_viapro
dmfe                   20416  0
shpchp                 30496  0
pci_hotplug            28752  1 shpchp
via_agp                 9216  1
agpgart                29772  1 via_agp
evdev                   9088  4

lsmod26231

lp                     10376  0
parport_pc             36580  1
parport                31432  2 lp,parport_pc
ide_scsi               14344  0
usblp                  12032  0 
gameport               11784  1 snd_via82xx
i2c_prosavage           3968  0
i2c_algo_bit            6020  1 i2c_prosavage
snd_ac97_codec         95524  1 snd_via82xx
ac97_bus                2432  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                69380  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec
thermal                13084  0
processor              28120  1 thermal
button                  6544  0
i2c_viapro              7828  0
serio_raw               5636  0
via_agp                 8576  1
i2c_core               20224  3 i2c_prosavage,i2c_algo_bit,i2c_viapro
agpgart                27468  1 via_agp
dmfe                   19356  0
shpchp                 29716  0
pci_hotplug            27040  1 shpchp
evdev                   8192  4

lsusb26211

Bus 1 Device 1: ID 0000:0000 
Bus 4 Device 1: ID 0000:0000 
Bus 3 Device 2: ID 067b:2305 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2305 Parallel Port
Bus 3 Device 1: ID 0000:0000 
Bus 2 Device 1: ID 0000:0000 

lsusb26231

Bus 2 Device 1: ID 0000:0000 
Bus 4 Device 1: ID 0000:0000 
Bus 3 Device 1: ID 0000:0000 
Bus 3 Device 2: ID 067b:2305 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2305 Parallel Port
Bus 1 Device 1: ID 0000:0000 

I became suspicious when I tried 26231 in VL58 where it too does not print.

There is no tulip in lsmod instead dmfe otherwise I cannot connet to the internet with my davicom eth card.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2007, 11:32:18 pm by Pita » Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #49 on: November 16, 2007, 01:38:22 pm »

I installed RC1.3 on my Celeron desktop and had some problems. With the linux kernel option it didn't see my floppy drive or my sound card (a VIA AC97 that has always worked with earlier Linuxes). So I reinstalled, this time using the linux2 kernel. This time it did see my sound card, but still no floppy drive is recognized.

Other than that, it's fine so far. I'm a bit alarmed, though, because I've never had a problem with any hardware on this desktop and have installed every version of VL from 4.whatever Standard to RC1.3, including several betas for 5.8 Standard, and this is the first time I've had hardware recognition problems.

I almost forgot--when I tried to select a /mnt/win partition during installation, it didn't show my FAT32 partitions, only my NTFS partitions. I had the same thing happen on my Turion laptop--only the NTFS partition was offered for /mnt/win during installation. On both computers I was able to add all my partitions through VASM once VL was installed and running.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
toothandnail
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2527


« Reply #50 on: November 16, 2007, 02:44:36 pm »

I almost forgot--when I tried to select a /mnt/win partition during installation, it didn't show my FAT32 partitions, only my NTFS partitions. I had the same thing happen on my Turion laptop--only the NTFS partition was offered for /mnt/win during installation. On both computers I was able to add all my partitions through VASM once VL was installed and running.

As a matter of curiosity, were you able to add NTFS partitions with VASM? My attempts to do so have ended up with them being set up as XFS instead of NTFS. I'm wondering if this is a general problem or something to do with the strange partitions on my laptop - It currently has XP Pro, OS/2 (one copy current, one copy beta), two versions of Zenwalk (1 4.8 plus, one Snapshot) plus VL 5.9 RC1.3. I use XFS for most of my Linux partitions, and have both HPFS and JFS partitions for OS/2, so I'm not sure whether the multitude of file systems may be confusing VASM...

paul.
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #51 on: November 16, 2007, 03:52:27 pm »

Yes, I had no problems adding NTFS partitions with VASM. On one computer I have one NTFS partition; on another I have three NTFS partitions, three FAT32 partitions, and two other Linux partitions formatted with reiserfs.

I did have an odd problem with some 5.8 Standard betas. VASM identified one Windows partition as reiserfs. I think it was FAT32 (can't remember for sure). I went ahead and had VASM mount it with the noauto option and then I'd fix it up in /etc/fstab. It was odd, though, that it was identified as reiserfs. I think it was a bug that got fixed somewhere in the beta cycle.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
vector
Administrator
Vectorite
*****
Posts: 479



« Reply #52 on: November 16, 2007, 09:11:38 pm »

yo grannygeek I pm'd you did you get it rather important............please read your messages ..............this appies to you so please look.
thanks,
vec

 
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #53 on: November 16, 2007, 09:16:40 pm »

yo grannygeek I pm'd you did you get it rather important............please read your messages ..............this appies to you so please look.
thanks,
vec

I got the message and have burned the test file to CD. Am about to give it a try and will let you know the results.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #54 on: November 17, 2007, 03:19:18 pm »

the launchers should only be one level deep

To answer myself, I now see that some would require modifications to the base scripts. Besides, there are only a few cases where you go a level deeper. Disregard.  Tongue
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1311


« Reply #55 on: November 17, 2007, 05:13:46 pm »

I made a new install, this time with linux2. All went well and the problems reported earlier still exist among them:

First startx gives a black screen with a terminal in the left upper corner. Can get out of it only with Ctrl-Alt-Backspace. After assigning a desktop with xwmconfig, xfce4 or others will start properly.

Printing with kernel 2.6.23.1 ist still impossible. I do a lot of printing, that would be a no go.
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #56 on: November 18, 2007, 09:19:00 am »

I got the same X issue first time I ran startx as regular user. I entered "startxfce4" in the terminal window. This brought up the window manager and it has been working fine since.

After configuring my network printer using the CUPS web interface, I can print to it, at least from Firefox.
Logged
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #57 on: November 18, 2007, 05:36:53 pm »

This is the first VL version that dependably shuts my computer completely off.  Other versions would boot down, shut down the HD's but not shut off (most of the time).  I would have to tweak my LILO to correct before.
Logged
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #58 on: December 05, 2007, 11:14:17 pm »

Crap, I guess I'd better learn Gambas for real then. Smiley

What of the text mode VASM?
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
exeterdad
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2046



« Reply #59 on: December 06, 2007, 04:16:10 am »

Huh?  Text mode vasm is still there.  VasmCC is just a graphical frontend for vasm that goes a level or two deep.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!