VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: java machine with opera  (Read 4108 times)

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
java machine with opera
« on: November 16, 2007, 02:02:00 pm »

hi

i use soho 5.8 with opera (9.21)

how can i accomplish to start the sun java machine in opera??
it works in firefox very well. but if i try to open such a site with opera...there is only a blank field...

any hint would be helpful..

for instance..here is a gaming-site www.win2day.at
if i click through to the gamingscene...there is only the blank window..see picture below.
in firefox it works ..hmmm..i think its the missing javamachine..and not the applet..not sure

and whaich plugin do you use for wmv-files in opera?
is there a howto available to configure opera in vl?
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=2517.0
i did this..but no avail..any wmv-file loads in adressbar..but nothing happens..i use kaffeine btw.

http://www.250kb.de/u/071116/p/c53011db.png

btw..is there a easier way to send images with the post?

greets günter
« Last Edit: November 16, 2007, 02:40:41 pm by ghartl1 »
Logged

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2007, 02:44:02 pm »

re: java
do you have java enabled in Opera (Tools>Preferences>Advanced>Enable Java)?  Hopefully it's as simple as that.
Logged

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2007, 03:28:51 pm »

yes...java is enabled..
this is my path

/usr/lib/java/lib/i386

any moore hints or a howto...there should be others with opera here?

greets günter
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2007, 03:44:20 pm »

>> and whaich plugin do you use for wmv-files in opera? >>

It's called Firefox. ;)

Seriously, Opera is great for many things and is my favorite browser, but it basically doesn't handle wmv and other Windows-type files in Linux. It doesn't work with MPlayer plugins and I haven't found anything else that enables Opera to work them.

Firefox works well with MPlayer plugins and it's not worth the effort to try to figure out how to open Windows movie and sound files with Opera.

As for the Java issue, are you sure it isn't Javascript that isn't working? I thought jsp referred to Javascript but I could very well be wrong. Opera has had problems with Javascript for years. It's better now than it has been, but there are still sites where it doesn't work. Same solution as with Windows media--use Firefox for those.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

ghartl1

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 379
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2007, 04:01:39 pm »

Firefox works well with MPlayer plugins and it's not worth the effort to try to figure out how to open Windows movie and sound files with Opera.

i know..firefox is great.
i thougt give opera a try...i didnt know, that there is still such a hassle with linux platforms...

As for the Java issue, are you sure it isn't Javascript that isn't working? I thought jsp referred to Javascript but I could very well be wrong

i am too not sure...i can only compare the results in ff and opera..in opera i dont have the sun java starting...

so i only want to use 1 browser..thats it.
its pity..because opera is really slick...except the plugin -issues..
so i am on my way back to ff.

btw..how handle other users this issue with opera? do they use really 2 browsers?

greets günter
Logged

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2007, 05:16:41 pm »

i am too not sure...i can only compare the results in ff and opera..in opera i dont have the sun java starting...

You do if Help menu, About Opera lists the Java Runtime Environment and Tools menu, Preferences, Advanced, Content, Enable Java is checked and clicking on Java Options shows the path is valid. Make sure Javascript is also checked. That's all you have to do to make sure Java is starting. Javascript is not the same as Java. Java is an outside program that works in the browser if sites run Java programs. Javascript is built into the browser.

Quote
so i only want to use 1 browser

Why? Unless you're hurting for computer power, having two browsers open or loading Firefox when needed is no big deal.

Quote
btw..how handle other users this issue with opera? do they use really 2 browsers?

I certainly do. Three sometimes, because maybe I just feel like using SeaMonkey sometimes. Opera is my favorite and has features no other browser has and it works fine with the vast majority of Web sites. If I hit one that doesn't (and one of my regulars does have problems with Opera), I use Firefox, which is likely to work. If it's an Internet Explorer only site, well, we're all in trouble then. But fortunately those sites are becoming fewer.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2007, 10:04:16 pm »

I can get that particular game site to load normally in Opera 9.23 on VL58STD.  I typically don't have java page problems in Opera (BTW, jsp stands for java server pages and the games are truely loaded in a java applet).  See screenshot below:


Another site that relies heavily on Java is the NRCS Gateway site and it also works fine on my system: http://datagateway.nrcs.usda.gov/NextPage.aspx

Within Opera, when you enable Java and specify it's location there is a button to validate the location.  Does it validate correctly for you?

mplayer with certain video types in Opera is flukey - some work, some don't.  I'm interested in finding a solution to this.
Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2007, 08:30:52 am »

mplayer with certain video types in Opera is flukey - some work, some don't.  I'm interested in finding a solution to this.
True. I wrote a HOWTO in the HOWTO Forum on how to force Opera to use mozplugger instead of the mplayer plugin:

http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=2517.0


-otherwise I love Opera too!
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2007, 06:00:58 pm »

BTW, jsp stands for java server pages and the games are truely loaded in a java applet

Thanks. I didn't know that but never quite got around to looking it up.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2007, 06:05:44 pm »

I wrote a HOWTO in the HOWTO Forum on how to force Opera to use mozplugger instead of the mplayer plugin:

http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=2517.0

I must have missed the HowTo the first time around because I don't recall doing those steps. I'll definitely give this a try when I get the next release candidate installed.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

martinwprior

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: java machine with opera
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2007, 07:34:36 pm »

Have you tried Opera 9.50. this solves many problems with opera for linux including using the Mplayer plugins?

http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/2007/09/04/go-and-get-opera-9-5-alpha-3


although still beta i have been running it on VL 5.9 with no problems.
Regards

Martin Prior
Logged