VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: can't get floppy to mount (Solved)  (Read 2126 times)

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
can't get floppy to mount (Solved)
« on: November 21, 2007, 04:26:39 am »

need some help,

having trouble mounting my Floppy Drive get the following error message when trying to mount it in terminal
root:# mount /dev/fd0
mount: special device /dev/fd0 does not exist
I've check it's in the /etc/fstab as follows

/dev/fd0   /mnt/floppy  auto     noauto,user     0 0

any suggestions?  I've googled in and tried severl suggestion from the web nothing has worked so far.. The floppy works fine in Debian Etch.
Thanks
« Last Edit: November 22, 2007, 07:05:26 am by kc1di »
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: can't get floppy to mount
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2007, 04:46:41 am »

Is the floppy in fstab commented out? (Just Checking)

Try as root# mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy

Bigpaws

Logged

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: can't get floppy to mount
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2007, 09:00:21 am »

Which version of VL. If it was VL5.9RC1.3 or previous there was a serious floppy bug I seem to remember. It appears to have been solved with VL5.9RC1.7.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: can't get floppy to mount
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2007, 01:22:22 pm »

Which version of VL. If it was VL5.9RC1.3 or previous there was a serious floppy bug I seem to remember. It appears to have been solved with VL5.9RC1.7.

Indeed there was a floppy problem in 1.3, but I didn't encounter it in earlier RCs or betas. I couldn't get my floppy drive recognized at all in RC1.3. The problem has disappeared in RC1.7 and the floppy is working properly.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: can't get floppy to mount
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2007, 03:07:41 am »

Is the floppy in fstab commented out? (Just Checking)

Try as root# mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy

Bigpaws



Thank you for your help have been trying as root.
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: can't get floppy to mount
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2007, 03:09:14 am »

Which version of VL. If it was VL5.9RC1.3 or previous there was a serious floppy bug I seem to remember. It appears to have been solved with VL5.9RC1.7.

Indeed there was a floppy problem in 1.3, but I didn't encounter it in earlier RCs or betas. I couldn't get my floppy drive recognized at all in RC1.3. The problem has disappeared in RC1.7 and the floppy is working properly.
--GrannyGeek

Where do you get RC1.7 can't seem to find a Download for it anywhere?
I was using 1.3 .
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: can't get floppy to mount
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2007, 03:40:28 am »

Where do you get RC1.7 can't seem to find a Download for it anywhere?
I was using 1.3 .

Try this link:

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/old-pkgs/VL5.9-STD-RC1.7.iso

paul
Logged

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: can't get floppy to mount
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2007, 04:33:28 am »

Where do you get RC1.7 can't seem to find a Download for it anywhere?
I was using 1.3 .

Try this link:

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/old-pkgs/VL5.9-STD-RC1.7.iso

paul

Thank you will give it a try
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608

kc1di

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Morse Code Early digital mode. John 3:16
Re: can't get floppy to mount
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2007, 05:45:29 am »

Where do you get RC1.7 can't seem to find a Download for it anywhere?
I was using 1.3 .

Try this link:

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/Uelsk8s/old-pkgs/VL5.9-STD-RC1.7.iso

paul

Thanks that worked fine and have the new VL 5.9 RC1.7 installed and it cured several other bugs i'd been having with RC 1.3 also

 :)
Logged
Dave
( Living Somewhere in Maine USA)
Registered Linux User #462608