VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Can I copy terminal text to the forum board as Quotes  (Read 1821 times)

reb

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • The BOSS
Can I copy terminal text to the forum board as Quotes
« on: November 29, 2007, 04:59:47 pm »

Frequently I find I would like to show text from my Terminal window, to my questions and answers, on this forum board in a Quote box?

Can it be done?   If so, how?

reb
Logged
Ye Ole Montana Saddle Tramp
Nothing is right or wrong, good or bad, only thinking makes it so.  Think about it.
Running a Vector Linux VL3300 with 1 SATA 80GB HDD and 1GB DDR 400 ram, DVD+-RW , and VL 5.9 Delux

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Can I copy terminal text to the forum board as Quotes
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2007, 05:27:05 pm »

Highlight the text in the terminal (or any window for that matter), navigate to the other window where you want the text and paste that text in with your middle mouse button. Cool eh? Another great advantage of the Unixes/Linux over MS Windows....
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

toothandnail

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2527
Re: Can I copy terminal text to the forum board as Quotes
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2007, 06:22:31 pm »

Frequently I find I would like to show text from my Terminal window, to my questions and answers, on this forum board in a Quote box?

Can it be done?   If so, how?

Yes, though I suspect you probably mean a code box rather than a quote box. Highlight the text with your mouse, then either use the middle button or right-click > paste. To get the text into a code box, use  (open square bracket)code(close square bracket) to start and (open square bracket)/code(close square bracket) to finish.

 ;D That was interesting to enter, since any attempt to use the sequence results in text partially in a code box, but doesn't make any sense at all...

paul.
Logged

reb

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • The BOSS
Re: Can I copy terminal text to the forum board as Quotes
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2007, 07:24:55 pm »

It Worked !!!!!

If this keeps you people will make a VL user out of me yet  :D

Thanks to both of you, lagagnon and toothandnail.

I tried the easy way from lagagnon first and it worked slick.  Amazing how easy things are when you KNOW how to do it.  It just goes to point out that the only difference between a genesis and a plebeian is how much one knows.  ;)

thanks again people

reb
Logged
Ye Ole Montana Saddle Tramp
Nothing is right or wrong, good or bad, only thinking makes it so.  Think about it.
Running a Vector Linux VL3300 with 1 SATA 80GB HDD and 1GB DDR 400 ram, DVD+-RW , and VL 5.9 Delux

kidd

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 682
Re: Can I copy terminal text to the forum board as Quotes
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2007, 03:27:00 am »

Maybe it's beyond the purpose of the OP, but it's always good to have more info than needed.
There's a console program named xclip (http://people.debian.org/~kims/xclip/), that allows you to automate the interface to the clipboard (both clipboards). 

for example:
> ifconfig | xclip

will copy the output to the clipboard, then, when you're on the forum textarea, just press shift+ins.

Congratulations, you've done a mouseless paste!

HTH

reb

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • The BOSS
Re: Can I copy terminal text to the forum board as Quotes
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2007, 07:09:06 am »

Hey Kidd,

I like that one too.  It just proves there are more ways to Rome than just  crossing the Alps,  ;)

thanks much

reb
Logged
Ye Ole Montana Saddle Tramp
Nothing is right or wrong, good or bad, only thinking makes it so.  Think about it.
Running a Vector Linux VL3300 with 1 SATA 80GB HDD and 1GB DDR 400 ram, DVD+-RW , and VL 5.9 Delux